Help me formulate a plan for building my first custom bike

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2007, 02:55 PM
Stache
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me formulate a plan for building my first custom bike

My qualifications?
Not much but I was an aircraft mechanic in a past life, I have 30+ years engineering experience in a variety of electronic, electrical, software and mechanical design, primarily in radio and medical instrumentation. All this ain’t saying much except maybe I know the difference between English and Metric units or can at least figure it out if I have a chart (in color), instructions and a calculator. If you tell me to pour pee out of a boot, I can probably do that too if you put the instructions on the heel.

Any way ….

What kind of bike?

Well, I know a few things. It will be painted black and have flames on it. Hummm .. Anything else? …. Oh yeah ….

It must be comfortable. It will not be a bar hopper. If I want to get Iron butt certified … I should be able to do it on this bike. I’m thinking softtail, no ape hangers, nice seat. It will primarily be a solo ride, perhaps a quick seat change would allow 2 up, at least for short rides.

As popular as choppers are and though I like to look at them and marvel, they are not for me. That’s not to say I’m against anything raked over 30 degrees etc. I can live with some moderate modifications as long as mountain handling and comfort are not adversely affected. I ride to the Smokey Mountains quiet often because there are some really nice rides there.

Power? Most defiantly. I’m thinking S&S 107 Evo or 124 twin cam. I want some kick but smooth ride and reliability are just as important.

Pipes? I’m sensitive to other people and I do have neighbors so straight drag pipes are out. At the same time, when I twist the throttle I wanna hear it.

Lights? I’m big on safety, I wanna be seen but I don’t really want to look like a Christmas tree either.