Notices
Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.

Bars and first mod questions

 
  #1  
Old 07-12-2017, 05:32 PM
Kodey52
Kodey52 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Endwell, NY
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bars and first mod questions


hello everyone, I recently picked up my first Harley, an 02 dyna superglide. I'm new to Harley's, sold my jap bike for my dyna. Very happy with it so far. I'm looking into changing it p a little bit since it's completely stock other than intake and exhaust. I was wondering how high of bars I can fit without cable extensions. I wanna go for T bars, people say I can fit 8-10" on stock cables. I'm on a budget so lengthening the cables is out of the question for now. Also what are some other good first mods to do, and things to watch out for. Thanks everyone
 
  #2  
Old 07-12-2017, 06:01 PM
streetjoebob
streetjoebob is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: America
Posts: 48
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

i put 10 inch T-Bar on mine with stock cables. still got enough slack, so i think you can go up to 12 inch. probably depends on the width of the bars as well.

besides handle bars, just google and research Stage 1-4 for Dyna, and you will learn about increasing power and torque through several mods.

and lastly, just enjoying modding overall to "personalize" your bike for yourself

and lastly lastly everything will cost lots of money $$$$$
 
  #3  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:45 PM
Kodey52
Kodey52 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Endwell, NY
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What width are yours? I wasn't looking for super wide bars like the stock ones anyways. And what diameter are they? I see 1" and 1 1/4" everywhere, just wondering what the stock controls fit
 
  #4  
Old 07-12-2017, 10:44 PM
archergodwin's Avatar
archergodwin
archergodwin is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northwest
Posts: 4,409
Received 125 Likes on 112 Posts
Default

Many 1 1/4 bars narrow back down to 1" for the controls and some do for the riser clamps as well
 
  #5  
Old 07-13-2017, 01:28 AM
cggorman's Avatar
cggorman
cggorman is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 10,805
Received 1,967 Likes on 1,492 Posts
Default

My opinion?

Lose the bags and sissy bar and find a used solo seat. Add gasoline and ride.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by cggorman:
Nemosengineer (07-13-2017), SixDD (07-14-2017)
  #6  
Old 07-13-2017, 10:33 AM
slow_ride's Avatar
slow_ride
slow_ride is offline
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I threw some 10" slingshots (see pic) on mine, stock cables fit fine, but the brake line is a stretch. Wouldn't have been able to go 12 without replacing the brake line. Other inexpensive and satisfying mods? Grab an integrated taillight from ramjet, a lay down plate holder, a good used le pera or lucky daves seat off eBay and ride the hell out of it.
 
  #7  
Old 07-13-2017, 10:37 AM
slow_ride's Avatar
slow_ride
slow_ride is offline
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

AND (assuming this is your first harley bar swap) get a pack of guitar strings If you plan on wiring the new t bars internally.
 
  #8  
Old 07-13-2017, 08:08 PM
Kodey52
Kodey52 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Endwell, NY
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by slow_ride View Post
I threw some 10" slingshots (see pic) on mine, stock cables fit fine, but the brake line is a stretch. Wouldn't have been able to go 12 without replacing the brake line. Other inexpensive and satisfying mods? Grab an integrated taillight from ramjet, a lay down plate holder, a good used le pera or lucky daves seat off eBay and ride the hell out of it.

Did you buy the gauge clamp too? Is there anywhere else I could mount my gauge without buying the mount? Would it possibly bolt up to the bolts that hold on the little vision over the headlight?
 
  #9  
Old 07-14-2017, 11:48 AM
slow_ride's Avatar
slow_ride
slow_ride is offline
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Kodey52 View Post
Did you buy the gauge clamp too? Is there anywhere else I could mount my gauge without buying the mount? Would it possibly bolt up to the bolts that hold on the little vision over the headlight?
Yea, i have the speedo mount from WCTbars.

I wanted to keep stock speedo, i like having my N / OIL / Engine / HB lights.

I have some buddies that ditch the speedo and run an aftermarket one, mounted to the frame or engine. You can get creative with the placement if you pick up something like this:

http://www.jpcycles.com/product/5600004

Or just ditch it all together for a cleaner look.
 
  #10  
Old 07-14-2017, 02:12 PM
FLASH1970's Avatar
FLASH1970
FLASH1970 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lake Geneva WI
Posts: 911
Received 384 Likes on 208 Posts
Default

not really a mod but maintenance. fluids, grease stuff up, check the cam chain shoes...


an ugly bike going down the road beats a pretty bike sitting on the side of it.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Bars and first mod questions


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: