Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lrs lifters

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2018, 10:33 AM
Nickd2689
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 257 Likes on 199 Posts
Default Lrs lifters

has anyone found a solution for the insane lifter noise on the lrs? I replaced mine with the ones in the 117 kit from screamin eagle and within a few thousand miles they go back to being noisy at all times.

Im a mechanic so I understand hydraulic lifters bleed down and this is just the way it is, but they're so noisy that I'm starting to actually worry about them. I've never heard any twin can get this bad.

If if anyone has run aftermarket lifters and had good results long term, feel free to make suggestions.

Old 01-05-2018, 11:07 AM
F86
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 898 Likes on 599 Posts

I have no direct knowledge of the late-generation Twin Cams, but is it possible that it's a function of the OEM non-adjustable pushrods? I've always had a hard time believing that with all of the minuscule variances possible between cams, cam bearings, cam support plate, lifters, head gaskets, heads, rocker arms and valves, a fixed-length pushrod can always be exactly right. From your description, it kinda sounds like a touch more preload on the pushrods is needed. I wonder whether you could eliminate the issue with a set of adjustable pushrods, rather than different lifters?

Old 01-05-2018, 11:55 AM
rbdub474
Road Master
Received 353 Likes on 218 Posts

Get S&S adjustable pushrods. It'll take care of it.

Old 01-05-2018, 12:25 PM
Nickd2689
Outstanding HDF Member

Originally Posted by F86