Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Backfires through intake and exhaust

Old 09-06-2017, 06:14 PM
jeremyjbroad@gmail.com
Stage III
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Backfires through intake and exhaust

Hi everybody. I have a 98 heritage springer that I bought 6 months ago. It's been hard to start since I bought it, backfiring through the air cleaner and out the tailpipe. It's now gotten to the point where it won't run and just backfires. I'm an auto mechanic and in my line of work it would be an ignition timing issue, but I know Harleys are a whole other world. I wonder if the ignition module, which is a crane fireball hi4e, is advancing the timing like it's at 2500 rpm all the time. I read about pushrods being out of adjustment and causing this issue, but I pulled the covers down, set the cam off the loved and I can rotate them with my fingers and they have no free play. Any ideas?

The following users liked this post:
rnrobert (10-11-2017)
Old 09-07-2017, 05:48 AM
Hillsidecycle.com
Sponsor
Received 816 Likes on 581 Posts

The older Crane ignitions have had a nasty reputation over the years of going sour.
We use/stock Dyna 2000i's, when we encounter that scenario,(no spark) if in fact that is the problem.
Scott

Sales/Support 315-495-6650
www.hillsidecycle.com
Walk-in Retail Showroom
Complete H-D Machine Shop
Case & cylinder boring
Complete Cylinder Head Shop
High-Performance Engine Kits
Crank Rebuilding
Direct Link & PowerVision Tuning
Goodson HD Tooling Manufacturer
Maxton Mile World Record
4500 sq ft. facility

OVER 35 YEARS OF H-D ENGINE BUILDING.
See us on Facebook.
rnrobert (10-11-2017)
Old 09-07-2017, 12:18 PM
jeremyjbroad@gmail.com
Stage III

It has spark

Old 09-07-2017, 12:52 PM
Max Headflow
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,223 Likes on 3,607 Posts