Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Mystery Engine

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2017, 10:48 AM
COHarleyGuy
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Mystery Engine

So I finally got my first Harley after 22 years of riding Honda, Yamaha and others. A good friend passed away and his wife wanted me to have his bike. This being my first Harley (American Iron) bike, I have no prior history or knowledge about any of this stuff. I have always done my own work on my bikes and have been very active with any work that they may have required.

What I know so far. The bike was a "custom" build from California Motorcycle Company (CMC). The frame is a 1997 Softail (not sure of exact model), the crankcase has a number on it that I can't figure out who makes it. The upper hardware along with the carb was made by S&S. The stamp on the crankcase is on the right hand (carb) side of the engine.

I contacted S&S and gave them the number on the crankcase and they said its not one of theirs. I have tried to reach out to Ultima, RevTech dealer but to no avail.

The engine needs to be cleaned up and gone through but before I start taking stuff apart, I want to be a little educated since this is my first experience with this type of engine setup. Thanks in advance!

Old 09-08-2017, 01:28 PM
roussfam
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 6,744 Likes on 3,511 Posts

Originally Posted by COHarleyGuy
So I finally got my first Harley after 22 years of riding Honda, Yamaha and others. A good friend passed away and his wife wanted me to have his bike. This being my first Harley (American Iron) bike, I have no prior history or knowledge about any of this stuff. I have always done my own work on my bikes and have been very active with any work that they may have required.