Flathead A place to talk about Flathead motors.

Just bought a ‘45 flathead. Have many questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2021, 01:44 PM
Heresolong
5th Gear
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Jumping in quite late but I just bought a 46 Flathead 45. Got a good deal from one of my HD customers for a variety of reasons. I'm a Harley mechanic but have never worked on one of these so excited to be looking around to learn as much as I can. Also, struggling to find manuals. I have a Big Twin manual that was in some stuff someone gave me but that isn't for this bike. Several places online are happy to let me download something they claim is the manual for $10 or $15 but with no pictures or sample pages not sure that I'm not just giving them money.

Anyway, good to be here, looking forward to being around more.

And yes, that is mud due to flooding. One of the "reasons" mentioned above.

The following 3 users liked this post by Heresolong:
Architect (12-04-2021), DanHappy (12-05-2021), Low budget Dan (12-03-2021)
Old 12-04-2021, 07:06 AM
johnjzjz
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,537 Likes on 2,873 Posts

Start a new post with pictures all around the guys will ID what is real parts and what might not be real parts — and an explain of what you right off need to know - like correct way to start it - what battery is in it will tell charging system type - what year is it

books most will post what correct ones to buy and I might have numbers for you to order them through who ever it is you work for will be the cheapest if they give the guys a deal -

The following users liked this post:
DanHappy (12-05-2021)
Old 12-04-2021, 07:33 AM
Architect
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,937 Likes on 2,569 Posts

What John said, start a new thread, lots of info to be had here. Order these books:

http://www.howtorestoreyourharleydavidson.com

Old 04-16-2022, 09:28 AM
Heresolong
5th Gear
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts