General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Riding Etiquette?

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2009, 08:14 AM
mcrider1
Road Warrior
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Riding Etiquette?

I've been sitting and reading this forum, thinking back on last riding season and this question sticks in my mind.
What do you do when riding in a group of 5 or 6 bikes on a nice mountain road, like the BRP, traveling at or just below the speed limit and faster bikes come up on you? I've been riding for over 30 years and I was always taught to go single file and wave the faster bikes around when it is safe to do so. On roads like the Blue Ridge Parkway, pulling off at the next overlook is often the best option.
I ask because I notice lots of bikes won't "wave" you around when you come up on them. They think they are the "speed police" or something and just try to do a rolling roadblock. Anytime I notice sportbikes coming up fast, I'll pull to the right track and wave them through. They usually respond with a friendly nod or wave and are gone in a split second.
Some riders are out for a spirited ride while others are cruising. I've found that it makes the cruising rides more enjoyable if I just wave'um by and watch them fly.
So, do you let them go or do you try to f*^* with them? Your not going to keep a sportbike behind you for long if he really wants by anyway.

Old 01-28-2009, 08:20 AM
DC2250
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Me , I'm a cruiser, ridin the speed limit plus 5 mph maybe, I give them an opportunity to come around, I'm enjoying, not gonna let them f*** up my ridin'.

Old 01-28-2009, 08:20 AM
stlboarder
Cruiser

I just wave them on by. What really pisses me off though is when a car is going way too slow or they haulass behind me.

Old 01-28-2009, 08:23 AM
Asphalt Assailant
Advanced

My rule of the road is~~~slower traffic, keep right.

Old 01-28-2009, 08:25 AM
big cahuna