Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your Harley, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

First Road Trip - Daytona

Old 10-23-2006, 01:37 PM
Shadofaxx
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Road Trip - Daytona

Thought if it's okay, I wanted to post a few of my observations from my first-ever road trip. I started riding seriously this year and had never been on an over-nighter. With my wife's permission (she's a sweetheart) I decided to try Biketoberfest - alone and riding from Michigan.

Itinerary:
Wednesday 10/18 - Left my house (after a long day at work) at 4:38 pm. Made it to Marietta, OH. (300+ miles) around 9:00 pm after seeing one too many deer next to the highway for my liking.

Thursday 10/19 - Rode roughly 850 miles to my hotel in St. Augustine.

Friday 10/20 - Rode to Daytona, got the souveniers, got the HOG pin, watched the people and did the ceremonial cruise up/down the main street. Then took A1A back to St. Augustine. Pure beauty. 90+ degrees, being from Michigan I just couldn't ask for more.

Saturday 10/21 - Original plan was to stay another day but the weather reports for Sunday were grim and Monday were worse. Decided to head back. Left at 7:00 and landed just south of Knoxville, TN around 5 pm (approx 600 miles).

Sunday 10/22 - Left Knoxville at 6:30 am and pulled into my garage, Tecumseh, MI. at 3:25 pm (approx 500 miles).

What a ride!

Observations/lessons of this trip (some good, some not so good):
- If you have to sneeze, don't forget to lower your balaclava BEFORE the actual event.

- Never, never pull into Knoxville, TN the evening of a Tennesee home football game! I had to negotiate my motel room DOWN to $109 ... for a lousy bed!

- People in Florida think I-95 is the speed limit ... and they most likely do 10-over. Just hang on and watch out for the occasional little old ... person ... doing 45 in one of the right lanes!!!!