Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

EFI question

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2008, 11:56 AM
DaddyKnuck
Extreme HDF Member
Received 1,658 Likes on 943 Posts
Default EFI question

I bought an '08 crossbones with Rush slip-ons, SE aircleaner and the dealer download. Bike runs fine, with a slightly elevated idle.

In order to fit the bags I want to use, I need to use a different exhaust. I have the pipes I want to use, and they are without holes for O2 sensors.

My assumption is that I should get a Power Commander and eliminate the sensors, as this is a cheaper (by $400) option to getting a new set of pipes with the holes for the sensors.

Is there a flaw in my thinking? Do the O2 sensors make a diff in how the bike runs, or is it just EPA? Will the PC work on top of the dealer download? I'm new to EFI. Thanks!

Old 12-20-2008, 01:07 PM
2Sore
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Old 12-20-2008, 01:11 PM
2Sore
Road Master
Old 12-20-2008, 01:36 PM
mopardave
Elite HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

JMO----the O2 sensors are the only device on the bike that actually tells the computer what is happening in the combustion chamber. By eliminating the O2's you are eliminating that source of input for tunability on the fly.
You can add bungs to your pipes very inexpensively. Here is one option:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Angle...Q5fAccessories
I reccomend you take a look at factory pipes (or aftermarket) and look at the location of the bungs. They are generally located within 6 or 8 inches of the exhaust port. The angled bung should be located so the sensor is sticking into the pipe with the exhaust flow and not against it. Both straight and angled bungs have been used, I just prefer the angles because it makes good engineering sense and that is the way most are installed.