Notices
Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Speedometer/Tachometer Error Message

 
  #1  
Old 05-07-2011, 07:13 PM
JPL
JPL is offline
Senior Rider
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default New Speedometer/Tachometer Error Message

I keep on getting this error message. What could it be? The new gauge came with an extra wire which seemes like an adapter. I assumed my motorcycle didnt need it (09 Fatboy) because the gauge plug fit right in directly on the gauge. Let me know your thoughts....

For some reason it wont let me post pics (dont know if its cause I just posted a bunch but the error message reads:

When it is Off: NO CAL
When I turn it On: VIN ER

All help is appreciated!
 
  #2  
Old 05-07-2011, 07:34 PM
Rakthi's Avatar
Rakthi
Rakthi is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,486
Received 82 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

Is this the one you first have to "marry" to the bike to update the mileage? Isn't that what the extra wire is for. Aren't you supposed to plug it in to the dataport under your seat first.

Should be in the instructions that came with it.

Might be wrong of course, but since no pic or description of which speedo/tach model you got ... have to make a guess.
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-2011, 07:42 PM
JPL
JPL is offline
Senior Rider
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

That does make sense... I tried uploading pic but it wont let me... Its the new one there was a thread abouty... with the small tachomenter and the bottom right in a little cirecle
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-2011, 08:45 PM
rcmty's Avatar
rcmty
rcmty is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 349
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Harley speedometer/Tac

I just install the same speedometer/tac on my 09 Heritage. You have to first use the small adapter wire that came with your speedometer and plug one end into the speedometer and the other end into the data link under your seat and turn the Ing swithch on and it will up date your speedometer with your mileage. when it reads complete then ok, unplug the speedometer from the data link and install it in your console. You should be ready to go!! mine works great..
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-2011, 08:50 PM
Keithhu's Avatar
Keithhu
Keithhu is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 11,516
Received 913 Likes on 600 Posts
Default

 
  #6  
Old 05-07-2011, 10:01 PM
Firemed509's Avatar
Firemed509
Firemed509 is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Elk Grove, Ca
Posts: 299
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rcmty View Post
I just install the same speedometer/tac on my 09 Heritage. You have to first use the small adapter wire that came with your speedometer and plug one end into the speedometer and the other end into the data link under your seat and turn the Ing swithch on and it will up date your speedometer with your mileage. when it reads complete then ok, unplug the speedometer from the data link and install it in your console. You should be ready to go!! mine works great..
Exactly what he said!
 
  #7  
Old 05-08-2011, 08:50 AM
txfiremedic's Avatar
txfiremedic
txfiremedic is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

^^^what they said^^^^ ....and make sure the "Run/Stop" switch is the RUN position during the link!! This one had me perplexed until i reread the instructions
 

Last edited by txfiremedic; 05-08-2011 at 11:07 AM.
  #8  
Old 05-08-2011, 01:19 PM
RIPbiker13's Avatar
RIPbiker13
RIPbiker13 is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 3,058
Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

I guess it's different on the newer models. (2011) I have the same gauge and it was just plug and play. It set itself and works perfect. Btw its an awesome gauge, you'll love it.
 
  #9  
Old 05-08-2011, 02:01 PM
Blk and Chrome's Avatar
Blk and Chrome
Blk and Chrome is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,109
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I see someone didn't read the instructions........
 
  #10  
Old 05-08-2011, 07:04 PM
knuckleheadz
knuckleheadz is offline
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

That's what it is guys. The harness is included with the speedo/tach's meant for '08 to '10 softails, '09 and later Dyna's, and '08 and later Road King that is needed to pull the mileage and other cal's from the currently installed gauge. '11 Softail's have new electrical systems that allow you to just "plug and play" that RIPbiker13 mentions above.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New Speedometer/Tachometer Error Message


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: