Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

intake leak or something else?

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2011, 07:11 AM
slipvayne9278
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default intake leak or something else?

So im getting tired of the popping coming from carb area,and the hicupping and backfiring.

Yesterday when i got home from work,the bike was in operating temperature. I decided to let it idle,then i took some throttle body cleaner and spray around the carb. When i did this the idle went up,not drastically,but very noticable. What does this mean?

I am new to carbs,the bike is a 1991 sporty 1200. I dont know what kind of carb it is,nor know how to tell,but what i can tell you it has a forcewinder air cleaner on it.

For reference,i havent done anything to bike,it ran great when i got it,then out of nowhere all of the backfiring,popping from carb area and hiccupping started.

I appreciate all the help guys

Old 08-13-2011, 08:13 AM
ride2tires
Road Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Slip- What do the plugs look like? If you have a intake leak, it should be running lean and the plugs should be white.
As far as intake gaskets, pretty easy to get at. I have a allen wrench I ground down on the short side to be able to get to the bolts on the intake "Y". Otherwise, proves to be tight. Couple o-rings.... very cheap fix.

Old 08-13-2011, 08:24 AM
slipvayne9278
Advanced

Plugs look good,plugs are brand new as well as wires,approx 2 weeks old

Where exactly is the intake gaskets?(remember im new to fixing bikes)

Old 08-13-2011, 09:45 AM
ride2tires
Road Master

Slip-