Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bike runs, shifts thru gears - but doesn't move

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2012, 09:54 PM
Redbeard719
Grand HDF Member

Received 1,221 Likes on 545 Posts
Default Bike runs, shifts thru gears - but doesn't move - SOLVED

Hey guys,

Please forgive my ignorance, I'm new to Sportsters.

I have a friend who has asked me to help him repair his bike.

The details:
2007 Sportster Nightster 1200

The bike starts without issue and runs well. While running, it can be shifted thru all 5 gears, and the bike does not move one inch.

What I have been able to rule out follows below. I wrench a lot on the Softails and Touring bikes, but Sportsters are still new. Any help is appreciated.

1. It's not the drive belt - I thought maybe that there were several teeth missing from the belt and that the stripped spot was on the pulley, not catching the splines. This is not the case.

2. It is not the clutch cable.

3. When looking thru the small inspection cover on the primary case, the primary chain is in tact, and appears to be free of damage.

4. Putting the bike in 5th gear, I had him roll the bike back and forth. It was not running, and the clutch lever was out. While doing this, the primary chain slack would take up while rolling backwards. Rolling forwards, the slack didn't take up. I know this is an issue.

5. I had him start the bike while observing the primary chain. It spins while the motor runs.

He was doing burnouts in his driveway and neither he nor his friend heard any strange noises.

I plan to start by pulling the primary cover off to observe what is going on. I don't have a Sportster Service Manual, but I told the owner to invest in one.

Does anyone have any advice or insight?

Maybe pictures of the inner primary exposed for reference?

Thanks.

Last edited by Redbeard719; 11-21-2012 at 08:41 AM.
Old 11-08-2012, 11:56 PM
Afrobaron