"The Florida Crew" Rides and Information From The Florida Crew.

Octane additve

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2011, 12:20 PM
SoFla
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Octane additve

I have never used an additive in my fuel tank before. But this weekend I tried Lucas Octane Booster. I must say, I noticed the difference immediately in acceleration. It was a bit pricey compared to some of the others available (11.00)... But it treats up to 25 gallons, so I used 1/4 per tank.

Any downside to these additives?

Old 12-20-2011, 12:32 PM
MJ
Elite HDF Member
Received 64 Likes on 43 Posts

Hey Steve! How ya doin'? I don't know any thing about the octane booster, but I use the Lucas ethanol treatment. It only takes 2 oz. per 5 gallons. I have noticed it running better and idling smoother. Claims to keep your fuel system cleaner by eliminating the moisture build up. Sounds like it would be good for some one for that lets their bike sit. Mine runs 2 or 3 times a week, but it does seem to help.

Old 12-20-2011, 12:37 PM
SoFla
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hi Mike, thanks. It
Ride mine every morning to the gym, onto 8 miles roundtrip, then a few joy rides after work a few days a week. I try for a long ride on weekends. So it definetly does not sit.. :-)

Old 12-20-2011, 02:40 PM
JayStronghawk
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 279 Likes on 214 Posts

I haved used Star Tron with good results is not an Octane Booster but fights the nasty's Ethanol can cause.. Improved Gas mileage just a tad .. Not an expert on this stuff but if can get 93 Octane shouldn't need a booster

Old 12-20-2011, 03:27 PM
murph
Elite HDF Member
Received 22 Likes on 13 Posts

We're Jerry when you need him. He should know about this stuff. I'm interested. If this is good, I will get a bottle or two.

Old 12-20-2011, 03:55 PM
MJ
Elite HDF Member
Received 64 Likes on 43 Posts

Originally Posted by JayStronghawk