Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Twin cam 88 upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2017, 04:39 PM
Nickstout653
Novice
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Twin cam 88 upgrades

Hello everyone, this is my first post as I am new to the Harley community. I have had plenty of motorcycles but always wanted a Harley. I am looking to purchase either a project Rushmore street glide or save some money and purchase an Electra glide with a TC88 and build it to my liking. My only concern is all the common issues with the TC88 engine. I would like to know EVERYTHING I should replace on an early twin cam to make it 100% reliable. What all do I need and what special tools do I need to buy? Gear drive, cam plate, etc. I want to do it right if I go this route.

Old 07-30-2017, 04:51 PM
cajun1957a
Road Warrior
Received 139 Likes on 83 Posts

Welcome. The biggest issue is the cam chain tensioners. They will over time disintegrate and can cause big issues. Some people also say 2003 and up, has a weaker crank and lesser bearings. I have a 2003 Road King Classic with the TC-88 in it and all I have done was I put stock tensioners back in and S&S 510 cams as well as a fuel management system. It hauls *** big time. You can go with hydraulic tensioners as well but sooner or later the shoes will have to be replaced or you can go with gear cams and do away with that nonsense. Rather pricey though. For what they wanted to do gears, I was able to put the tensioners, cam bearings and Cams. I guess it all depends on how you plan on riding. There are thousands of tc-88s out there and they seem to be a good motor once you look at the above. My $.02.

randy

Old 07-30-2017, 05:17 PM
Nickstout653
Novice
Received 1 Like on 1 Post