Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Duals and SERT ???

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2008, 03:48 PM
fireman403
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Duals and SERT ???

I think I posted here before, but just in case, here's a quick intro: I've been riding for the last 35 years, currently on a 2006 Electra Glide Classic. I live in Southeastern NC (where we can ride all year and without snow tires!)

I've usually been able to find answers just by browsing the forum or doing a search. I just haven't found answers to these questions, so here goes.

I'm strongly considering a set of Rinehart True Duals primarily for better sound (I already have the SC Air Cleaner and SC Slip-ons). If I get some better performance or cooler operation with the Rineharts, that would just be a plus. Currently, my local dealer is offering 25% offaftermarket parts, so the new pipes would be about $740. However, he also said that I would need the SERT ($399), plus 3 hrs labor to install everything (at $77.50/hr).

I would have no problem installingthe pipes, and I'm pretty sure I could handle the SERT, I just don'twant to become a computer programmer. Myquestion is this?Has anyone successfully installed pipes and the SERT using a basic map?

By the way; I'm not trying to start (or re-start) a SERT vs PC debate - there are plenty of those already.

Thanks in advance for any input.
Darrell

Old 03-04-2008, 03:56 PM
UltraKla$$ic
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 31 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: Duals and SERT ???

Using a SERT is easier than walking and chewing gum if you just flash with a base map. It's that easy. Get all the stuff to your house and come back here and we'll walk you through it.

And yes, a canned map is good for a simple Stage I build.

Old 03-04-2008, 05:28 PM
Duracell
Stellar HDF Member
Received 1,655 Likes on 580 Posts