Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help with C&C seat

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2010, 03:28 PM
gtrplyr
Road Warrior
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Need help with C&C seat

I spoke with Chuck today at C&C seats about ordering a solo seat with detachable pillion. Chuck was VERY patient with me and tried to answer all my dumb questions but yet I still have more. Thought you guys might be able to help out.

My options are either getting vinyl or leather, and then either plain or Mercedes. I have no clue which to get. I think that the more questions I ask the more confused I get. I have no experience with a leather seat on motorcycles, but I will not buy a car with leather seats as every car or truck I have owned or seen with leather always ends up looking horrible. The leather always cracks and flakes, which is why my last truck I specifically wanted cloth seats. Is leather on a bike any different? Also what does it mean that vinyl is hotter... as in my butt is going to get soaked from sweating from a vinyl seat or is it not that big of a difference?

Also I have the choice of getting mercedes compared to plain in either vinyl or leather. Chuck sent me a pic of the mercedes which looks like the surface is kind of rough, as compared to the plain where the surface is smooth. But Chuck said the smooth develops a dimpled look over time - not sure what exactly that means, he was trying to explain it but my brain was not computing. Is mercedes better, or does it wear better?

Sorry for all the questions, but I don't want to drop all this money on a new seat and not like it.

Thanks!

Old 02-01-2010, 03:41 PM
Northwoodz
Road Warrior
Received 461 Likes on 128 Posts