Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LED turning lamps (pros and cons)

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2005, 07:22 PM
screamn_eagle
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LED turning lamps (pros and cons)

hey guys,

i am thinking of getting the led front and rear turning lamps. does any one have them on their bike and will they just plug into my existing light sockets? is there a greater apm draw...are they as visible as the regular amber bulbs, and does anyone know how much they cost and how long they last

thanks
scott

Old 08-16-2005, 08:09 PM
AceArt
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: LED turning lamps (pros and cons)

I have no first hand experience but have been looking into similar things. If you visit "Custin Dynamics" you will find some of the answers to your questions. You'll see them just to the right of the posts and can click there. Keep us posted as to what you decide. Art

Old 08-16-2005, 08:13 PM
HDF Tech
Banned
Received 148 Likes on 41 Posts

I believe one of the drawbacks is that they are not as visible from an angle.

Old 08-16-2005, 08:44 PM
pointswhat
Road Captain

I had put the replacement led bulbs in on my soft tail and were not impressed with them but they are probably better ones out there now. The only problems I had though was that the resistance acros them is alot lower than the filament bulbs, therefore the electrical system was indicating to me that they were burnt out did the quick flash of the indicator. Also my security system didn't seem to like them. This all could possibly be rectified with a load stabilizer. So if you decide to go that route realize it may cost you more than just the bulbs.

Point

Old 08-16-2005, 09:19 PM
screamn_eagle
Outstanding HDF Member

points,
what is aload stabalizer and where would it go on my bike