Classic All 'historic' bikes.

Panhead Restoration question

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 04:10 PM
FXDWG/FLHX
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Panhead Restoration question

Hi guys, I'm a certified Technician with 15 years HD experience with a Restoration question.
The bike in question is a 1956 Panhead that a friend of a friend is looking to get restored. The bike was taken apart 8 years ago and been sitting on cardboard boxes and bins since (the current owner bought it a year ago). The only thing that is complete is the engine and transmission that were recently rebuilt. I went through the boxes with a guy that built is own Panhead. It appears that everything is original and that most of the parts are present. Some smaller parts and most of the hardware is missing.
The owner wants to get everything painted by a local painter and wants me to clean up the rest of the parts and put it together and make it road worthy for Him.

This is typically a project you would do yourself and I would rather buy the bike from Him and do it for myself, but he wants to keep it.
Anyway they are asking me for what I would charge to do this. I have no idea what to quote them as I've never done a restoration let alone work on a pan head (oldest I've worked on up to this point has been a couple shovels).

My plan of attack would be:
-Preassemble the bike and make sure all the pieces are present and in working order.
-Tear down and sent to paint
-final assembly and build a new wire harness (all the wires have been chopped).

I am thinking at least a year to complete the job (working weekends and waiting for parts/ paint).

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should quote (roughly) for this job. I don't know any shops in the area that would even take on a job like this. Does anyone have any idea of what restoration shops would charge for this kind of project?

Thank you for your time and any suggestions.

Old 02-13-2012, 04:14 PM
soft 02
Seasoned HDF Member