Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

FXDL Electrical Problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 08:34 PM
BadMetal705
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FXDL Electrical Problem

Bottom line: With the key removed in the OFF position, with the battery removed I get zero Ω resistance between the black and red cables. I'm no electrical engineer, but I don't think that's right.

How I got to this point...
Day 1: I try to start the bike. Engine turns over but doesn't quite start, nothing really out of the ordinary. I keep trying, engine keeps turning over until it eventually just clicks, like I killed the battery. I take the battery out, and put it on the charger.

Day 2: I take the battery off the charger and put it in the bike. Lights come on like they should when I turn the key. I try to start, it clicks but doesn't turn over. I take the battery back out and put it back on the charger. I notice that the battery is strangely hot to the touch, almost scalding hot.