Cruise Control Indicator - Harley Davidson Forums



Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

Cruise Control Indicator

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-11-2017, 10:50 PM
BlkSTC08 BlkSTC08 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: S. Indiana
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cruise Control Indicator Always On

Hi, new HD rider, new forum member. When I parked my 08 FXSTC tonight I noticed that the cruise control indicator light came on and stayed on, even with the key switch off. I don't have cruise control either.

The seller mentioned that the security system had been disconnected, something to do with the pipes, and that the dealer could reactivate it with a $200 thingamajig. The security light is always on, and I thought that was why.

I've now learned that an always-on security lamp indicates a current diagnostic code. I did get a B1154 that won't go away. Something to do with the clutch switch. I have noticed that I can't start in gear with the clutch in, so the clutch switch might be bad. But I've had the bike a couple of weeks, and the cruise lamp thing just started last night. Don't know if the DTC code/security lamp and the cruise lamp are related.

Thoughts? Thanks

Last edited by BlkSTC08; 09-12-2017 at 11:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2017, 10:27 AM
bustert bustert is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 204
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

two diff indicators??? then issue not related. however, if the security is non functioning then that is the source, perhaps he had the light causing code erased to kill the indicator and now it is back. try disconnecting the module and see if the light goes out, if it is a separate module and not built into another unit. past that, you might try lifting the pin on the ecu input for the security system. one ?: does it just give an alarm or does it activate an immobilizer?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bustert For This Useful Post:
BlkSTC08 (09-14-2017)
  #3  
Old 09-13-2017, 01:31 PM
BlkSTC08 BlkSTC08 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: S. Indiana
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I understood the security issue was known and planned for. I have no idea what $200 part would make it function again. That part may be the 'module' you mentioned. Otherwise, I don't know what module to disconnect. I don't remember seeing 'ecu input' in my searches; does it have another name?

Regarding your question, nothing security-related is happening; no alarm or anything. All that is happening is the always-on red key icon, which I can live with and will apparently go away if I get the clutch interlock issue taken care of. And the cruise lamp, which is on even if the bike is shut down and switch off, is what really bothers me. I'm sure that led takes almost no power, but it bugs me being on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2017, 10:48 AM
bustert bustert is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 204
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

i ride sportster, had bt in the past but nothing new, will look at what material i have to see if it can apply to the fx. my fx was a 1974 super glide, wish i still had it, still have my 1974ch though.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bustert For This Useful Post:
BlkSTC08 (09-14-2017)
  #5  
Old 09-14-2017, 01:19 PM
bustert bustert is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 204
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

i do not have a 2008 but a 2011 manual.
2008 was the first year hd used a cable-less throttle system like cars have been doing for years.
did your machine come with cruise? or it quit working?
if yours did have it, then there maybe a short to voltage in the bar switches. yes there is a connection to the clutch lever sw, what color is the cruise, green or yellow?
there is a nice video on fix my hog that can help with diagnostics.

basically there are two systems that feeds info to the ecu from the throttle. if one of these fail, a safe mod is entered and depending upon what failed, the performance is throttled back sometimes to idle only.
when you twist the throttle, two hall sensors relay the voltage change to the ecu and the ecu relays the change to the throttle plate positioner which works like a wheatstone bridge so the voltage is equal, plate = throttle demand.
also inside the bar is another spring loaded sensor and a dc motor which are keyed to the bar. when the cruise is set the ecu uses speed sensor to maintain position and the info from the grip sensor/ecu/throttle position sensor maintains status.
if you have the on/off cruise sw, then it maybe bad shorting to power.
there is a pin on the ecu that can be lifted (cruise enable) but i would use that as the last resort.
since it runs i would say the grip/throttle plate are playing nice but it the cruise isn't working i would look at the dc motor part. there are a whole lot of safety built in.

there is no separate module but the ecu can be programmed to not allow for cruise, maybe the 200 bucks?

Last edited by bustert; 09-14-2017 at 01:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bustert For This Useful Post:
BlkSTC08 (09-14-2017)
  #6  
Old 09-14-2017, 02:29 PM
BlkSTC08 BlkSTC08 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: S. Indiana
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My bike has a pair of throttle cables, and didn't come with cruise. EITMS uses the cruise lamp to indicate whether on or off, but I've tried the throttle roll to turn it on/off and nothing happens. Not even sure it has EITMS. I think all your comments relate to the throttle-by-wire throttle system rather than cables?

Since there is no cruise and EITMS, if it's there, seems to be non-adjustable, I have to wonder if there's a problem with the speedo itself.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2017, 09:06 AM
bustert bustert is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 204
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

if yours has cables, then there is no cruise unless (an hd does do it) you have the older system. 2008 they went cable-less. will see if i have something older. anyway, the light can only come on via normal operation or a short to power. was the ecm flashed recently? they could have flashed in the cruise option, but let me see an older system if there is a separate controller.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bustert For This Useful Post:
BlkSTC08 (09-20-2017)
  #8  
Old 09-15-2017, 02:13 PM
bustert bustert is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 204
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

was able to find an older version but not the electrical end. i believe the module he referred to was 70989-04 and would fit till 2007. it super-ceded 70955 and 70989. i do not think they are available any more. this was a module with cable and stepper motor linked to the carb. if the machine never had it, the ecu should not be programmed for it. still looking for the electrical.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-20-2017, 12:47 PM
BlkSTC08 BlkSTC08 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: S. Indiana
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'll keep the ecm mis-flash possibility in mind and ask the service guy. Don't know of a way to check on my own. That cruise light is a lot dimmer than normal so it's hard to see unless it's dark. But I'm almost sure it wasn't on when I first brought the bike home. So it probably wasn't flashed wrong. The service manual doesn't show the cruise lamp speedo harness, so if there's an extra wire that doesn't belong, I could just clip it.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cruise control not working Ron Mangus New "Rushmore" Models 13 09-12-2017 05:04 PM
2006 Road King dash lights Hyshkabob Touring Models 3 05-06-2017 12:25 AM
Neutral light on constantly ral819 Milwaukee Eight (M8) 8 03-27-2017 07:26 AM
2014 CVO Limited Screaming Eagle Cruise Control and Shift Display not working everettde Touring Models 3 06-01-2016 09:09 PM
Cruise Control troubleshooting shortride Touring Models 19 04-04-2016 06:57 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: