General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

out of state motorcycle purchase

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2009, 06:01 PM
blk07dynasb
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default out of state motorcycle purchase

I am in GA for business and decided to stop by a local (GA) dealership and found out they are offering $3500 to $4000 off on 2009 touring bikes. I am a resident of CA. My question is, Can I buy a bike in GA and register in CA ? and how much would the emission cost to install ? local (CA) dealers are offering discounts(maybe $500 to $1000), but not this much. I would be saving at least $3000. Additionally, colors choices here in GA is much better than CA and have a lot more in stock. Thanks.

Old 07-08-2009, 06:06 PM
wescoot2
Road Master
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I can help you part of your question. I purchased my bike out of state, and was able to register it in my home state. Be prepared to pay your Home State.......State tax when you try and get your plates for the Bike.

As far as cost of putting on CA emission equipment, I would suggest that you call a CA dealer and ask that question. You won't be the first person needing to have that installed.

Respects,
Ed

Old 07-08-2009, 06:08 PM
harleydavis
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 30 Likes on 21 Posts

In California you can purchase a vehicle out of state but cannot bring it into the state until it has 7,500 miles on the vehicle. There are some other requirements, but that is the big one. You can call the CA DMV to get the exact requirements.

Old 07-08-2009, 07:16 PM
deepspace
Banned

It'll cost you. California will not make it easy or cheap for you to buy a bike out of state. It's California.

Old 07-08-2009, 07:22 PM
DHinsSC
Intermediate
Default location?

Which dealer did you see those discounts at? It might be worth the drive.

Old 07-08-2009, 07:23 PM
electricstart
Road Warrior
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts