General Topics/Tech Tips Discussion on break in periods, rider comfort, seats and pad suggestions. Tech tips as they become available will be posted here.

Using vinegar to remove rust from gas tanks

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2018, 10:46 AM
DaleJ88
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Using vinegar to remove rust from gas tanks

Hey guys, I'm kinda new to motorcycles so forgive me if it seems like I'm mentioning a lot of stuff you probably already know. But I have a 1980 flh and I wound up having some issues with it. It was cutting out on me as I was going down the road a couple weeks ago, wouldn't react to how I was working the throttle, just kept doing it's own thing revving up, lurching forward and then idling back down a few times until it finally came to a stop and died on me, this happened a few times in a day. So what I ultimately found the problem to be, or atleaat what I think it was, was rust on the inside of the gas tanks, it had actually plugged up the crossover line from the right to left tank. I got new lines and was working on removing the rust from the insides of the tanks. I read somewhere that you can use nuts and bolts and vinegar to remove the rust. I went and did this a few nights ago and left the vinegar in the tanks to try and soak in and get rid of as much stuff as I could but I just took a look and it didn't seem like it did much, maybe added some more rust I don't know. But my question is can you leave vinegar in the tanks for too long? I'm just afraid that I may have unintentionally added more to the problem instead of actually fixing it. Any help would be appreciated, thanks guys!

Old 07-17-2018, 10:49 AM
Kingglide549
Banned
Received 969 Likes on 694 Posts

The old guys used white vinegar overnight.

Old 07-17-2018, 10:58 AM
shorelasHD
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 2,858 Likes on 1,270 Posts