Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

OLD BIKER: Where do I start?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2019, 09:13 PM
Professor123
Novice
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default OLD BIKER: Where do I start?

Just so y'all know, I've been riding HD for 43 years STRAIGHT. These days, I ride (a drifter) FULL TIME, and have been on the road for two and a half years. Prior to this journey, I always rode a carbuerated bike. I am a pretty good mechanic and have always done my own work, including motor rebuilds.
I started this journey with a 2013 Streetglide. A local bike shop installed the old HD "race" tuner (now illegal) and dyno-tuned the bike after I installed a free-flow exhaust and stage 1 intake. The bike ran GREAT, and I just bought a new M-8 after putting over 70,000 miles on the '13. Now, I dont know WHAT to do. Not being "back home"...and no longer being able to get the illegal HD "race" tuner, I must teach myself about tuners and tuning. It's pretty confusing for an old biker. I am reading all the threads (and I DO understand engine theory) but there are things I need to learn "wide band" , "narrow band", autotune, etc, etc. Is there some kind of BOOK I can start to read to teach myself?
WHERE DO I START?
Basically, the new M-8 runs great, but it is purified. Its sounds like a washing machine. The air cleaner looks like it belongs on a Suzuki Intruder, and the cat does nothing for performance...just for adding heat. I gotta do some changes. I know it will void my warranty, but this bike, the way it is from the factory, is SILLY.

Old 04-19-2019, 09:49 PM
marcodarq
Stellar HDF Member
Received 728 Likes on 574 Posts