Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

1971 900cc Ironhead oil pressure spike !!

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2014, 05:31 PM
phoenixfury
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1971 900cc Ironhead oil pressure spike !!

Ladies and Gents, Let me begin by saying Hello and that i'm a newb to the forums so please bare with me. I just completed a top end rebuild on a good friends 71 ironhead which went smoothly i.e. pistons, rings, honed, valve job. Unfortunately, before i began work on the bike he took it to a shop and after the shop tore the bike/engine all the way down they gave it back to him in boxes and thats where i came in. I now have it all reassembled and before i fired it up i hooked a 0-75 psi oil pressure gauge to the oil pump where the pressure switch would screw in and ran the oil return line into a separate container so i immediately knew if i had oil pressure and if it was circulating throughout the entire system and returning. The bike fired on the second stroke and sounded amazing... It ran for about 5 seconds when i noticed the oil pressure gauge maxed out and actually broke the gauge it is now stuck at 50 lbs... Nothing returned from the oil return hose.... I hooked up another gauge, fired the bike and the oil pressure immediately shot over 100 lbs so i killed the engine. So i know i have a restriction and 2 broken oil pressure gauges lol. All of the hoses are new and orifices are clear. I had to reassemble the cams and oil pump when i received the bike as well as have custom cam shims lathed to correct cam endplay as per the Clymer manual. I know the cam timing is correct the bike fired and revved perfect but i did not let it run long for i don't believe there is oil pressure throughout the engine. Could oil pump timing cause a oil pressure spike ?? What would cause such high pressure in the delivery and none in the return ? I did have the whole oil pump broken down, cleaned, reassembled with new gaskets and i am certain the gaskets were