Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

two ironhead questions...

Old 07-08-2007, 08:46 PM
socobandit
Advanced
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default two ironhead questions...

OK, I have two questions...hopefully easy to answer. First, my engine is burning oil...most ly when accelerating and changing gears...is this more likely the valve guides or the rings? If it is the guides, is there a seal I can install rather than changing the guides? Second question...for those in an E85 methanol area, have you noticed flat spots on accel? It's only been the last 2 months or so, and without fuel injection, I've really noticed a decrease in power. An help is appreciated, thanks!!

Old 07-08-2007, 08:54 PM
xxxflhrci
Extreme HDF Member
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: two ironhead questions...

Is it burning large amounts of oil?

While I'm not an Ironhead expert, I have logged over 40k miles on mine. I had a top end job done on it 3 days after I got it. My buddy is an Ironhead guru and did the job. He does not put valve seals on the exhaust guides. He claims the little bit of oil that trickles down helps prevent galling. My bike puffs a bit at an idle and gives off a puff between gears. However, it does not use enough between changes to ever need any oil added.

IMO, if you are using oil and have a decrease in power, you need to be doing a compression check and be considering the possibility of needing a new top end job.

Old 07-08-2007, 10:40 PM
piniongear
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

It most likely is a bit of each. The rings wear with the milage build up along with the guides. When your guides are worn to the point they let excess oil by, then there is not a seal in the world that will remedy that problem.