Powdercoat & Paint A place to discuss everything about powder coat and paint for your Harley.

Orange Peel Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2017, 03:51 PM
Super Chad
Novice
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Orange Peel Question

I have a 1998 fat boy that has a "custom" paint job. I use that term loosely. The color is black cherry metallic, which I love, but the amount of orange peel and texture in the paint is obscene. I have dreamed of owning a fat boy for years and I finally have one, and the only thing I dont like about it is the paint.

I am not completely inexperienced when it comes to body work, but I am no expert by any means. I have read many reviews/how-to's about removing orange peel by wet sanding/buffing, but ran across this product that claims to be able to remove the texture without sanding. I was curious if anyone has any experience with the denim pads and would be able to offer any good advice.

Any tips in general as I try to tackle this job are much appreciated.

Old 04-28-2017, 10:49 PM
Ozbernie
Cruiser
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by Super Chad
I have a 1998 fat boy that has a "custom" paint job. I use that term loosely. The color is black cherry metallic, which I love, but the amount of orange peel and texture in the paint is obscene. I have dreamed of owning a fat boy for years and I finally have one, and the only thing I dont like about it is the paint.

I am not completely inexperienced when it comes to body work, but I am no expert by any means. I have read many reviews/how-to's about removing orange peel by wet sanding/buffing, but ran across this product that claims to be able to remove the texture without sanding. I was curious if anyone has any experience with the denim pads and would be able to offer any good advice.

Any tips in general as I try to tackle this job are much appreciated.