Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

77' Flh dash wiring

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2018, 08:59 AM
kwaltz6
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 77' Flh dash wiring

I am doing a mild restoration on a 77' FLH and after trying to salvage it, have decided to re-wire the whole thing. I'm not a novice to wiring, and understand all the basic properties, components and functions, so feel free to be as technical as you can in your responses. This is however the first "restoration" i've done and i'm trying to revert the bike back to original as possible. I have everything wired up and am having an issue with the ignition grounding out, but here's the odd part. It only happens when the dash cover is on??? My best guess is that I'm somehow touching a wire and grounding out once the cover is on and secured. My main question is: are the terminal posts on the instrument panel mount use to run power from the key switch to the breakers? The picture attached are the posts I'm talking about. Currently my wiring set up has power coming into the key switch by way of a main breaker. I then have individual wires running from the accessory, ignition and light posts on the key switch, each to their own breaker. I then have all my components (tail lights, head light, horn, ignition) running off the breaker. I currently have nothing attached to the posts on the instrument panel bracket. Through some research I've found several photo's/videos where I can see wiring running to these posts and it looks much "cleaner". Any info?

And please, with all due respect, don't respond with a general "get a manual" statement. Because if you'd crack one yourself you know it has no reference to this question.

Last edited by kwaltz6; 04-11-2018 at 09:01 AM.
Old 04-11-2018, 10:26 AM
Racepres
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,054 Likes on 1,510 Posts