Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hello from Rockwall Texas

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2016, 08:01 PM
roberrob
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello from Rockwall Texas

Hey guys, I'm a newbie HD rider (Just bought a 100th Anniversary Fatboy) and I love it!!!! I'm looking forward to learning and sharing anything I learn about these great bikes. Mine is a 88ci twin cam, with a screaming eagle heavy breather air filter and Vance and Hines pipes. I am the third owner. I already have a question about the engine. Is there anyway to tell whether the previous two owners have done anything to the motor besides tearing it down? How much horsepower does the 88 come from the factory with? Does the air filter and V&H pipes add horsepower? Thanks and am looking forward to riding!!!!

Old 12-29-2016, 09:20 PM
Bone Doc
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 10,863 Likes on 4,113 Posts

Originally Posted by roberrob
Hey guys, I'm a newbie HD rider (Just bought a 100th Anniversary Fatboy) and I love it!!!! I'm looking forward to learning and sharing anything I learn about these great bikes. Mine is a 88ci twin cam, with a screaming eagle heavy breather air filter and Vance and Hines pipes. I am the third owner. I already have a question about the engine. Is there anyway to tell whether the previous two owners have done anything to the motor besides tearing it down? How much horsepower does the 88 come from the factory with? Does the air filter and V&H pipes add horsepower? Thanks and am looking forward to riding!!!!
Welcome to the forum from central Texas. Is your 2003 Fatboy your first bike?

Other than tearing the engine down, the only other way to determine if other engine mods were done is documentation. A previous owner or dealer can help with that.