Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pinion shaft scoring.... Is my motor going to blow???

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2019, 07:34 PM
Mabbott
Tourer
Received 58 Likes on 45 Posts
Default Pinion shaft scoring.... Is my motor going to blow???

Ok guys, I need some help here. I have an 08 deluxe, 96" with 23k miles. I started tearing down the bike to install woods 555 cams, lifters and pushrods. I get the old cam plate and cams out and notice the pinion shaft has scoring on it so now I'm pretty nervous.

This is my first time diving into engine work, which I'm not scared to do, just not much experience. From what I've read I need to check run out, which I don't have a gauge to do right now. Apparently 0-0.10" run out is acceptable?

I work at an aircraft machine shop doing in-house HVAC so I'm hoping I can find a gauge to check the run out tomorrow, but I just want some opinions.

I guess I just want to hear from some more experienced people what they have seen in these situations. Do you see scoring on the shaft even when it's still in the acceptable range? What exactly causes this? If it is out of the tolerable range, if I keep running it like this what can I expect? If it's on the very end of the tolerable range, are there there I should keep an eye on? Am I way over thinking this and it's not a huge deal?

Lol sorry for all the questions but I'm just worried I'm going to be looking for a crate motor lol. Here's some pictures of the pinion shaft. Thanks for all the help!

Old 03-20-2019, 07:46 PM
joe40x
Road Warrior
Received 656 Likes on 383 Posts

Relax. Most of them look just like that. If you can't catch a fingernail on it, I wouldn't worry about it. I would still check runout.

Old 03-20-2019, 07:56 PM
Grand HDF Member

Received 5,372 Likes on 2,228 Posts