Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

rubber mounted engine vs solid

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2008, 07:11 PM
wojeepster
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rubber mounted engine vs solid

I am new to harleys and am drawn to sportsters because they are lighter and cheaper... I think I would be happy with a 883! Anyway for those of you that have ridden both what is the difference between the 2004 up with rubber mounted engine compared to the earlier sportsters with the solid mount? Also it seems like the older ones aren't any cheaper than the three year old ones..so I am thinking look for condition primarily and low milage.

Old 02-04-2008, 07:38 PM
agedwards63
Road Master
Default RE: rubber mounted engine vs solid

I have owned both and like the rubber mounted much better... but you will get many different opinons on that, as to what is different the frame is TOTALLY different the pre 04's the engine was mounted to the frame... they got rid of the trap door in 04 now if you need tranny work they have to split the cases which costs more now in 07 they have the Fuel Injection oh and in 04 they went with the bigger 150 tire here are some pics of my girls...

Old 02-04-2008, 08:12 PM
Dorkman
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Before you decide, try an older model, then a 2004 or better, through all the gears. Some folks don't mind the vibration. I found that there was a distinct difference and ended up buying a used 2004. Another consideration is if the pipes and carb or EFI has been modified to get better performance. This would apply to any Sportster under consideration.

Old 02-04-2008, 08:41 PM
freekdawg1200
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Get a 1200 solid mount with a carb.You'll dig the vibes!

Old 02-04-2008, 09:35 PM
x2lee
Banned