Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No running or brake lights

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2017, 09:29 PM
Grampa tony
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No running or brake lights

I am a navy vet that recently purchased an 01 road glide FLTRI. I was pumped when i got the bike. I picked it up for $8,000 with 28k. miles. Its a beautiful green.Problem is that i have no running or brake lights. There is two disconnected wires by the battery. There is a four wire plug with orange,black,blue and red wires. The blue and red wires not connected and i cant figure out where they go. I can hot wire the blue wire to get running lights but thats all i can figure. I cant figure out where they go. Turn signals and all other lights work. I need help.

Old 06-24-2017, 02:25 AM
mkguitar
Extreme HDF Member
Received 395 Likes on 337 Posts

Hi Tony

the plug under the seat is the acc plug, the orange pin on there is controlled by a switch on your dash

on a HD blue is used for running lights, red/yellow for brake and black for ground- these show up in the acc plug and are paralleled to the lights on the fender

IF the bike has been lowered, it is possible ( and kinda common) that the wiring inside the fender gets chewed up by the tire bottoming out

I think you need to physically trace the wires from the taillight forward.

the factory service manual has wiring diagrams

if you want to check the wiring in the fender you'll need to jack up the rear, easy to pull the lower shocks bolts and let the tire and swingarm drop down to give you room
be careful though as this can shift your balance point, causing a nose dive.
a 2nd set of hands and eyes can be good

mike

Last edited by mkguitar; 06-24-2017 at 02:28 AM.
Old 06-24-2017, 04:36 AM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,852 Likes on 2,419 Posts