Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

red security light stays on

 
  #1  
Old 02-12-2018, 10:05 AM
fftoddster's Avatar
fftoddster
fftoddster is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Huntingtin Beach CA
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default red security light stays on

The red security light in gauge on my 2014 Street Glide is staying on. It cycles when turn bike on but then comes on and stays on.
Bike starts and runs fine. Neural indicator does light up and show when I am in neutral.
Lights have been changed to led lights but that was when bike was new with no issues.
Appears to be charging fine.
Brought both key fobs with and no difference (one has a fairly new battery)


The bike was recently washed. (did not stay on immediately after that but came on and stayed on a week later/2nd ride)

Any ideas what to look for?
 

Last edited by fftoddster; 02-12-2018 at 10:10 AM.
  #2  
Old 02-12-2018, 10:53 AM
hbsoldier3's Avatar
hbsoldier3
hbsoldier3 is offline
Club Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bear Flag, lower end
Posts: 4,435
Received 741 Likes on 596 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fftoddster View Post
The red security light in gauge on my 2014 Street Glide is staying on. It cycles when turn bike on but then comes on and stays on.
Bike starts and runs fine. Neural indicator does light up and show when I am in neutral.
Lights have been changed to led lights but that was when bike was new with no issues.
Appears to be charging fine.
Brought both key fobs with and no difference (one has a fairly new battery)


The bike was recently washed. (did not stay on immediately after that but came on and stayed on a week later/2nd ride)

Any ideas what to look for?
Somebody else was experiencing the same problem a few weeks on this forum. The manual says to take it to a dealer, not much help, but maybe call the service department.
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-2018, 12:08 PM
clintox
clintox is offline
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 61
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

My security module shows the red key after I use my hazards. I always have to clear it afterwards.

Try this:

Signal left a few times, then signal right a few times.
 
  #4  
Old 02-12-2018, 02:53 PM
K Melancon's Avatar
K Melancon
K Melancon is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Deep South, Louisiana
Posts: 1,277
Received 75 Likes on 53 Posts
Default

You have a code(s). Press and hold your trip button, turn ignition to on and wait until you see "diag" then release trip button. Then press trip button to go through components and should be followed by a "n" if you have a "y" that is the component that has a code. Press and hold trip to get the code. Then check what the codes mean.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by K Melancon:
ABQ-Jammer (02-15-2018), Buck05 (02-25-2018)
  #5  
Old 02-12-2018, 03:05 PM
fftoddster's Avatar
fftoddster
fftoddster is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Huntingtin Beach CA
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Will give that a try when I get home later this week
 
  #6  
Old 02-12-2018, 04:56 PM
K Melancon's Avatar
K Melancon
K Melancon is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Deep South, Louisiana
Posts: 1,277
Received 75 Likes on 53 Posts
Default

Just post what you see on here and someone will tell you what the code means. If it was the fob battery (2032) it would not turn over and do nothing.
 
  #7  
Old 02-12-2018, 05:10 PM
CSMHOG's Avatar
CSMHOG
CSMHOG is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,267
Received 184 Likes on 129 Posts
Default

What Melancon posted was correct; here's another version ... does your bike have a siren and if so, when was the last time you changed it's battery??

Get Into DTC Viewing Mode:
1. Press & Hold the odometer reader button located on the left handlebar control cluster
2. While holding the odometer button down, turn Ignition On
3. When the odometer window displays “DIAG” you can release the odometer button
Viewing and clearing DTC’s: (Clear codes at your own risk)(Make sure you know what you are doing or consult a Harley mechanic)
1. Push the odometer button and release to scroll through the different modules and codes
2. If an item has a “Y” next to it then you have trouble code.
1. Press and hold the odometer button to view the actual DTC
2. Press & hold the odometer button to clear the code
1. “CLEAR” will appear in the odometer window.
2. Press & hold the odometer button to proceed with clearing the DTC
3. Press and release the odometer button to go back to the DTC module
 
The following 3 users liked this post by CSMHOG:
ABQ-Jammer (02-15-2018), Buck05 (02-25-2018), oldhippie (02-15-2018)
  #8  
Old 02-12-2018, 05:25 PM
fftoddster's Avatar
fftoddster
fftoddster is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Huntingtin Beach CA
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CSMHOG View Post
What Melancon posted was correct; here's another version ... does your bike have a siren and if so, when was the last time you changed it's battery??

Get Into DTC Viewing Mode:
1. Press & Hold the odometer reader button located on the left handlebar control cluster
2. While holding the odometer button down, turn Ignition On
3. When the odometer window displays “DIAG” you can release the odometer button
Viewing and clearing DTC’s: (Clear codes at your own risk)(Make sure you know what you are doing or consult a Harley mechanic)
1. Push the odometer button and release to scroll through the different modules and codes
2. If an item has a “Y” next to it then you have trouble code.
1. Press and hold the odometer button to view the actual DTC
2. Press & hold the odometer button to clear the code
1. “CLEAR” will appear in the odometer window.
2. Press & hold the odometer button to proceed with clearing the DTC
3. Press and release the odometer button to go back to the DTC module

Thanks and No it does not have a siren
 
  #9  
Old 02-12-2018, 08:02 PM
clackavosticus
clackavosticus is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Queanbeyan, Australia
Posts: 644
Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts
Red face

The security light will ignite while riding if there is an electrical issue of some kind - check for thrown codes like others have stated. Last time mine went on there was a bad connection to my brake lights (electrical fault).


 
  #10  
Old 02-13-2018, 06:21 AM
geezer glide 56's Avatar
geezer glide 56
geezer glide 56 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,841
Received 30 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fftoddster View Post
The red security light in gauge on my 2014 Street Glide is staying on. It cycles when turn bike on but then comes on and stays on.
Bike starts and runs fine. Neural indicator does light up and show when I am in neutral.
Lights have been changed to led lights but that was when bike was new with no issues.
Appears to be charging fine.
Brought both key fobs with and no difference (one has a fairly new battery)


The bike was recently washed. (did not stay on immediately after that but came on and stayed on a week later/2nd ride)

Any ideas what to look for?
Have you checked to see if your brake light is functioning properly?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: red security light stays on


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: