Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with Power Commander V

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2012, 08:49 PM
danzio
Stellar HDF Member
Received 578 Likes on 305 Posts
Default Help with Power Commander V

Hey guys, I thought I was a fairly tech savvy guy but I'm having trouble understanding how the PCV map input works.

Last week I installed the Fuel Moto retro-fitted PCV onto my '07 Ultra. I believe they sent me a pre-mapped unit based on the upgrades I told them were on the bike. I did see some improvement to some of the conditions I had been experiencing without the PCV, mainly I was concerned about new pinging that started when my stock "Y" pipe was switched out to a V&H True Dual header, then followed up with the Rinehart slip ons that were on previously. The pinging issue is still there, although much improved. So I contacted FM with my concerns and they sent me a new map.

So my question is, how do I pull the old map off and replace it with the new one? I don't just want to overwrite what's on there now, I want to save that one as well.

When I hook up the USB cable to the PCV and my laptop, I don't see the existing map. Do I need drivers beyond what is on the PCV software, which I installed the latest version from the Power Commander website?

Thanks for any help.
Dan

Old 08-30-2012, 09:38 PM
Armstronges
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

When you hook the computer to the pcv and turn the ignition on you should see an option to "get map". When you select that it displays the map that is on the pcv. Then you can save it.

Old 08-30-2012, 09:49 PM
danzio
Stellar HDF Member
Received 578 Likes on 305 Posts

You see that, I didn't know the ignition needed to be on. I was afraid to turn it on. I didn't get any instructions with regards to on the bike programming.

Thank you for your response.