Tuner for 2/1 exhaust? - Page 2 - Harley Davidson Forums

Notices
Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.

Tuner for 2/1 exhaust?

  #11  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:23 AM
neverstockjp's Avatar
neverstockjp
neverstockjp is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta
Posts: 46
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ThePaintPirate View Post
If all you want to do is load a map from V&H, flash then go, the FP3 has a pretty cheap entry fee. It's a pretty popular tuner.
forgot to mention that I wonít go any further than stage 1. After reading few replies Iím leaning toward FP3 itís small and compact, can be installed inside battery case. as long as itís compatible with non V&H exhaust?
 
  #12  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:26 AM
Andy from Sandy
Andy from Sandy is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 566
Thanked 42 Times in 40 Posts
Default

V&H may not have the actual named pipes but then you just select a map that is similar to the hardware fitted.

Then you do an auto tune. Then you do some test riding.

If you have a specific problem you upload the map to V&H describing said problem and they create a tweaked map that you can then install.
 

Last edited by Andy from Sandy; 01-11-2019 at 09:28 AM.
  #13  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:28 AM
archergodwin's Avatar
archergodwin
archergodwin is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northwest
Posts: 4,307
Thanked 108 Times in 96 Posts
Default

The one thing no one mentions... PC products all stay plugged into the system, and you have to find a spot for it... somewhere. Have read many posts of frustrated folks trying to find a space to locate it on a Dyna.

TTS Mastertune requires no module to stay plugged in on the bike. Connect, download your map, disconnect.

I'm sure lots of people have found a spot for their PCX without too much issue. Just saying, it's a thing you'll have to deal with, that's different between the two tuner types.
 
  #14  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:29 AM
Andy from Sandy
Andy from Sandy is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 566
Thanked 42 Times in 40 Posts
Default

The FP3 is a flash tuner and so can be removed from the bike.

It has some nice features though, so you may want to leave it on the bike to get the benefit of.
 

Last edited by Andy from Sandy; 01-11-2019 at 09:31 AM.
  #15  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:33 AM
Boostedboxer04's Avatar
Boostedboxer04
Boostedboxer04 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 448
Thanked 70 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_fxdb View Post

Well, you can do an auto tune on the fly and read diagnostics without a computer. You have a lot of gauges and also can read the bikes error codes. The interface is super easy and a lot more user friendly. No?
More user friendly for the inexperienced guy, yes. Better, no
 
  #16  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:42 AM
Bob_fxdb
Bob_fxdb is online now
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oslo
Posts: 207
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Boostedboxer04 View Post
More user friendly for the inexperienced guy, yes. Better, no
Which one is better then? And why
 
  #17  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:50 AM
Boostedboxer04's Avatar
Boostedboxer04
Boostedboxer04 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 448
Thanked 70 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_fxdb View Post
Which one is better then? And why
This topic has been discussed extensively on these forums quite a few times .A quick search will give anyone all the info that they need to make their decision
 
  #18  
Old 01-11-2019, 10:01 AM
Bob_fxdb
Bob_fxdb is online now
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oslo
Posts: 207
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Yeah I know, just curious on why you said that PV is more user friendly for the inexperienced and not better...
 
  #19  
Old 01-11-2019, 01:27 PM
streetjoebob
streetjoebob is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: America
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

2014 Street Bob: Arlen Ness Stage 1 Big Air, Thrashin Supply Exhaust 2-1, V&H FP3 Tuner...

That is my set up. I keep the tuner plugged in, and it stays inside the compartment where it plugs into. Basically resting under the middle of your seat.
I have my tune set up to Standard 2-1 Exhaust + Stage 1 Air Cleaner and going through auto tune, which can take some time. It is recommended to go through several tanks of gas which includes riding on the highway, riding in the city or populated places...etc etc. (You will notice your autotune is working when the squares are turning green)
I initially began with using a tune designed for a Python exhaust...which I noticed because someone else was riding a Street Bob with the same exhaust and air cleaner, but sounded completely different than mine...so I did some research, and realized I was using the wrong "canned" tune (map).

***Also, you can ride your bike without running autotune, using just a regular tune is just fine for daily riding***

I really like the tuner because it connects via bluetooth to your smart phone and has a simple user interface, however, one down side is that you need to be quick with tuning because it will drain your battery.
With the tuner, I was able to also identify all my error codes, and eliminate the annoying exhaust popping; which is a feature on the tuner.

So there it is, my input on the FP3, I have never used another motorcycle tuner.
 
  #20  
Old 01-11-2019, 02:42 PM
Andy from Sandy
Andy from Sandy is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 566
Thanked 42 Times in 40 Posts
Default

[color=left=#222222]one down side is that you need to be quick with tuning because it will drain your battery.
On the phone I am assuming you are referring to?

Good to see what is going on but I believe it is not strictly necessary. So you could have your phone off and then check how the tune is doing from time to time. In the same way you can turn the bike off and come back and resume auto tune another day.[/color]
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: