Tuner for 2/1 exhaust? - Page 3 - Harley Davidson Forums

Notices
Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.

Tuner for 2/1 exhaust?

  #21  
Old 01-11-2019, 06:54 PM
splattttttt's Avatar
splattttttt
splattttttt is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MASS_hole
Posts: 4,632
Thanked 243 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Vance and hynes has been around for a very long time
And became very well known for their sucsess in racing
they are smart peiple and they build great products
And their fp3 is one of theirt great example
 

Last edited by splattttttt; 01-11-2019 at 06:58 PM.
  #22  
Old 01-11-2019, 08:56 PM
streetjoebob
streetjoebob is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: America
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Andy from Sandy View Post
On the phone I am assuming you are referring to?

Good to see what is going on but I believe it is not strictly necessary. So you could have your phone off and then check how the tune is doing from time to time. In the same way you can turn the bike off and come back and resume auto tune another day.
my bad, i meant the FP3 will drain your motorcycle battery.
 
  #23  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:15 PM
ludville1's Avatar
ludville1
ludville1 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 335
Thanked 59 Times in 54 Posts
Default

I have the stock 103 HO intake vented to atmosphere with a K&N air filter, Cobra RPT 2 into 1 exhaust and a FP3 tuner. Downloading maps is really easy, and you can Autotune if you want to. V&H customer support is good also. Bike sounds and runs strong.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to ludville1 For This Useful Post:
neverstockjp (01-11-2019)
  #24  
Old 01-11-2019, 10:07 PM
Nitrochicken
Nitrochicken is online now
Senior Rider
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Angelo,TX
Posts: 486
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Default

TTS and a good dyno tune. DONE
 
  #25  
Old 01-12-2019, 10:29 AM
waterfordhunter's Avatar
waterfordhunter
waterfordhunter is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cibolo, TX
Posts: 164
Thanked 48 Times in 38 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Andy from Sandy View Post
V&H may not have the actual named pipes but then you just select a map that is similar to the hardware fitted.

Then you do an auto tune. Then you do some test riding.

If you have a specific problem you upload the map to V&H describing said problem and they create a tweaked map that you can then install.
What he said.
 
  #26  
Old 01-13-2019, 03:33 AM
Bob_fxdb
Bob_fxdb is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oslo
Posts: 207
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

If youre not planing on doing any further upgrades, why not drop a tuner and just do a proper dyno tuning? Tuning people will just use PV or TTS or similar tuners to flash your ecu, and you dont need to have any tuning box on your bike, and of course spend that extra money on a box that you dont plan to use when all of the tuner prosess is done. It is recommended to dyno tune no matter any ways, right?
 
  #27  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:05 AM
Mark Faulkner's Avatar
Mark Faulkner
Mark Faulkner is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: U.K.
Posts: 341
Thanked 70 Times in 54 Posts
Default

I have the FP3 on my Low Rider S with RSD Slant Pipe. It's easy to use and does the job fine. If you're not planning on going further than Stage 1, paying more for features you'll probably never use doesn't seem worth it.
 
  #28  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:33 AM
splattttttt's Avatar
splattttttt
splattttttt is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MASS_hole
Posts: 4,632
Thanked 243 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by streetjoebob View Post
my bad, i meant the FP3 will drain your motorcycle battery.
I havenít noticed any discharge issues with it on my wifes bike.
During colder temps, the bike will sit for as long as two weeks with out riding it. Longer than and I plug a trickle to it.
In fact, the app only functions if I turn it on from the phone.
only reason I leave it on the bike is that its a cross bones. And getting the seat iff to uncover the battery requires tools.
 
  #29  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:37 AM
splattttttt's Avatar
splattttttt
splattttttt is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MASS_hole
Posts: 4,632
Thanked 243 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mark Faulkner View Post
I have the FP3 on my Low Rider S with RSD Slant Pipe. It's easy to use and does the job fine. If you're not planning on going further than Stage 1, paying more for features you'll probably never use doesn't seem worth it.
I think now the fp3 is useful beyon a stage1
I know for a fact it will isolate cam options.
After that, I donít know tho
 
  #30  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:46 AM
splattttttt's Avatar
splattttttt
splattttttt is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MASS_hole
Posts: 4,632
Thanked 243 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_fxdb View Post
If youre not planing on doing any further upgrades, why not drop a tuner and just do a proper dyno tuning? Tuning people will just use PV or TTS or similar tuners to flash your ecu, and you dont need to have any tuning box on your bike, and of course spend that extra money on a box that you dont plan to use when all of the tuner prosess is done. It is recommended to dyno tune no matter any ways, right?
if youíre ginna forego a tuner and have your bike dynoed. You will only have to do this when ever you make changes to engine mods. That includes air cleqners and pipes. So yeah. I would rather have a tuner. On my 2014 I changed exhaust 3 times and air cleaners twice.
Do an auto tune and done. No appointmentments and ir $400 dyno fee each time
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: