Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lowering Blocks - Whos got em?

Old 02-19-2010, 07:04 AM
miketedesco
Tourer
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Lowering Blocks - Whos got em?

So I am studying the various rear lowering blocks available for my wifes 05 Super Glide. I keep looking at the Arlen Ness kit and the other various brands(Burley, Tamarack, White Bros, etc). To anyone that has either of these kits, could you take a picture for me of the lower shock mount so I can see how the block sits on the swing arm?

(If you are wondering...) The reason I am asking for this is that it appears that the Ness kit mounts to the swing arm with the center hole then has a rearward hole for the shock to bold to at the end of the block. The other brands all appear to mount to the swing arm at the end of the block, then the shock mount to the middle of the block. I want to confirm that since there is a $50 difference in price between the Ness kit and the other brands. If the block mounts to the swing arm via the center hole, this will not allow the block to pivot on the swing arm when the bike is jacked up, when it bolts to the end of the block and you jack the bike up, the block pivots up and the rear wheel hangs real low. I am just not a fan of this design. I had lowering blocks on my wife's old Honda Shadow and hated the design. It never seemed entirely safe to me.

Old 02-19-2010, 09:22 AM
CountryPunk
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Are you sure you're not overthinking this, man? They're just blocks, regardless of price. All any of them are gonna do is move the lower shock mount further out. I understand what you're explaining, but you may be nitpicking...

Old 02-19-2010, 09:28 AM
Lorance66
Road Master