Notices
Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

Speedo/odometer cut out

 
  #1  
Old 10-02-2018, 07:53 PM
Kyle Simpson
Kyle Simpson is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speedo/odometer cut out

While riding my speedometer just stopped working and my odometer went blank. It continued to run until I got home. Then I turned off the bike. Turned it back to on/run and nothing. Wonít start. Any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 10-02-2018, 10:24 PM
mmesa005's Avatar
mmesa005
mmesa005 is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northern California
Posts: 3,666
Received 470 Likes on 455 Posts
Default

What year, the model of bike? Stock or any modifications?
 
  #3  
Old 10-02-2018, 11:09 PM
Kyle Simpson
Kyle Simpson is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mmesa005 View Post
What year, the model of bike? Stock or any modifications?
2011 Wideglide stage 1
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-2018, 12:31 AM
mmesa005's Avatar
mmesa005
mmesa005 is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northern California
Posts: 3,666
Received 470 Likes on 455 Posts
Default

Unfortunately the first place to start is to check for DTC/Error codes, however, if your speedometer is not working then you would need another device to check for codes? As you mentioned you have a Stage I upgrade by chance are you using a Tuner such as an FP3 or similar that can read error codes?

Without the ability to check for DTC codes I would start by checking the battery health, as well as the battery cables, end to end for tight connections and that there is no damage. You can also take a look at your fuse panel and check your fuses and relays 1 by 1 to include checking for corrosion at the contacts.
Near the starter, there is a ground cable which is close to the VSS sensor that sends signals to the Speedometer. Check to see that the sensor is not loose and the wires are not damaged. See photo with a white arrow pointing to the sensor.

 

Last edited by mmesa005; 10-03-2018 at 12:33 AM.
  #5  
Old 10-03-2018, 08:12 AM
Kyle Simpson
Kyle Simpson is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mmesa005 View Post
Unfortunately the first place to start is to check for DTC/Error codes, however, if your speedometer is not working then you would need another device to check for codes? As you mentioned you have a Stage I upgrade by chance are you using a Tuner such as an FP3 or similar that can read error codes?

Without the ability to check for DTC codes I would start by checking the battery health, as well as the battery cables, end to end for tight connections and that there is no damage. You can also take a look at your fuse panel and check your fuses and relays 1 by 1 to include checking for corrosion at the contacts.
Near the starter, there is a ground cable which is close to the VSS sensor that sends signals to the Speedometer. Check to see that the sensor is not loose and the wires are not damaged. See photo with a white arrow pointing to the sensor.

thanks! At least itís a place to start
 
  #6  
Old 10-04-2018, 09:07 PM
Kyle Simpson
Kyle Simpson is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Things that DO work
Off/run switch
Rear brake switch
Headlight
Hi/low beam switch
Horn
Rear brake switch
Neural light
Oil light
Fuel gauge
IGN/off/acc switch
Battery 12.69V
Coil from plug wire to connector 3.1ohm (both)
Power to the speedometer as pictured

Things that donít work:
Turn signals and hazards
Start switch
Speedometer
Speedometer light
Odometer and light
 
  #7  
Old 10-04-2018, 09:50 PM
Redoilokie
Redoilokie is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: `
Posts: 7,276
Received 2,801 Likes on 1,675 Posts
Default

Did you get around to checking all your fuses?
 
  #8  
Old 10-04-2018, 09:52 PM
Kyle Simpson
Kyle Simpson is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Redoilokie View Post
Did you get around to checking all your fuses?
yes, all good
 
  #9  
Old 10-04-2018, 09:56 PM
Redoilokie
Redoilokie is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: `
Posts: 7,276
Received 2,801 Likes on 1,675 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Kyle Simpson View Post

yes, all good
If you don't have a wiring diagram, you can get one (PDF) from harleydavidson.com. Click Owners>Owner's manuals, and input the info till it asks for your VIN, then select wiring diagram from the available options.
 
  #10  
Old 10-04-2018, 10:09 PM
mmesa005's Avatar
mmesa005
mmesa005 is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northern California
Posts: 3,666
Received 470 Likes on 455 Posts
Default

Here are the wiring diagrams. Need to know if there are DTC codes?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: