General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Riding again - YEAH!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2009, 11:06 AM
Lady_Bacon
Novice
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Riding again - YEAH!!!

I started riding on a Honda 50 step-through - some of you may remember the bike. It was a cute little red Honda, made in the mid 1960's, with a tan, plastic shroud. Didn't go very fast but it was like magic after riding bicycles. Then, I moved on and rode "other people's bikes" until I bought my own (at my big brother's suggestion) - a BMW R75. And I rode and owned several more BMW's but always eyed the Harley Davidson Sportster. Maybe it was the "bad boy" image it had back then: the "I'm free and riding" thang... Maybe it was the sweet, classic lines. Or maybe it was the sound of thunder and power! But it was a love unrequited for far too long...

I rode from about 1967 until 1984, when I was too busy with nursing school and marriage to ride - WHAT A POOR EXCUSE! Now, still a nurse and one marriage later, I have a Harley Davidson Sportster, YEAH! How that came about is this: we saw "Wild Hogs" at the theater and I "got itchy," remembering how wonderful and free I used to feel when I rode. Okay, got through that and went back to humdrum daily life. Then, Nicholas Cage did "Ghostrider" and LOVED that movie and got more "itchy." I was talking about the movie and riding, once upon a time, at work with colleagues when a provider (who happens to ride a big ol' full-dresser) told me about a movie with Anthony Hopkins, called "The World's Fastest Indian". That did it, I guess - watching him, at his age, do a bit of serious riding... Well, a couple of weeks later, during the first week of December, we (I) decided to get out of the house one morning and take a ride in the Jeep. We did - right to North Country Harley Davidson in Augusta, Maine.