General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Buyer Beware!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2010, 12:39 PM
Gonzy
Gonzy
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Buyer Beware!!

Sometime ago I posted a WTB for a 21in spoke wheel to fit my son's 05 Sportster. Last week I received a PM from a forum member saying he had a spoke wheel from a 07 FXSTB. Now I'm no Harley expert and don't pretend to be, so I asked this guy will it fit. I specifically asked if it would fit without any kind of modifications, etc. He assured me that it would, so I sent him his money via paypal and received the wheel this week. My son and I went out and measured the hub and there is no way in hell it will fit, it's about 2 inches wider than the sporty wheel.
I emailed the guy asking if he had any ideas, as of yet there is no response from him. So lesson learned, "Don't Trust Anyone" and do like I should have done in the first place, call a trusted source, parts place, etc and ask them if a particular part will fit.
Anybody want to buy a spoke wheel for an 07 Night Train?

Attached Thumbnails Buyer Beware!!-20100720_70.jpg  
Old 07-22-2010, 01:02 PM
aviator
Elite HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

that sucks!

BUT, with everything you buy on-line - due diligence is necessary.

Old 07-22-2010, 01:33 PM
jimmie d wad
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

yes.you need to know whats what. seen lots of people on ebay pay more for a used part than if theyed have bought it new.on an up note if you put a wide glide front end on that sporty that rim will fit.and if you check the caliper you have might bolt up.

Old 07-22-2010, 01:36 PM
inaroush
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sounds Just like the scammin liars from American Classic Motors in Zieglerville, PA....

Sorry you had a bad experience.

Old 07-22-2010, 02:37 PM
barjbar
Elite HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts