Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Completely Disabling Buttonless Fob Security Systems ('07 up)

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2011, 11:34 PM
Nexus9
Cruiser
Received 26 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Completely Disabling Buttonless Fob Security Systems ('07 up)

For those of you do-it-yourselfers out there (like me) who don't want to have to make the trip to the dealer every time they want something done, let me relate my experience with removing the TSSM non-pushbutton security system on my '08 Ultra. This may work for other bikes, but I'm not a factory mechanic - so I can only confirm that this will work on '07 and later touring. One of the advantages of doing this yourself is that you can keep your original module (along with a printout of this post) and re-install it at any time without another trip to the dealer, or if the bike's new owner wants a security system.
The factory security system is contained within the Turn Signal Module (TSM), which becomes a Turn Signal Security Module (TSSM) when it is so equipped. If you are disabling the TSSM (do NOT want a security system on your bike) then you have a TSSM installed now, HD p/n 68924-07. This is a roughly cone-shaped device in a black plastic case, mounted vertically under the seat and to the right (starboard) side. Mine was held down with a silver metal clip. The first thing we need to do is replace this item with a NON-security equipped TSM.
So before you go hunting for the TSSM on your bike and removing it, buy the part you're going to replace it with - in this case, HD p/n 68920-07. They are $114 new from Harley, but I found many on eBay and bought one for $24.95 including shipping to my door. You will also need (highly recommended) a 2 amp (or so) motorcycle battery charger to complete the job safely.