Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your Harley, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

Road Trip 101: Simple Packing List?

Old 04-27-2012, 12:08 PM
Purple_Daze
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Road Trip 101: Simple Packing List?

Hi Everybody.

I am new to touring. Have done a few overnight trips, but nothing far from home for any length.

Have a 5 day trip coming up with my local HOG chapter...a first ever for me. Will take out my new Street Glide, which is just getting modifications to prepare. I have ordered the HD Touring Luggage Set (large bag and day bag), have sissy seat, have luggage rack....

ok...so...will be leaving Canada to go to the US.

Need passport...

So for the folks that tour a lot, you have learned to simplify to bring the must haves...and leave enough space to bring home some shopping stuff that may have been purchased.

What is a simply packing list - for Ladies?

Much appreciated!

Old 04-27-2012, 12:46 PM
rochkes
Elite HDF Member
Received 460 Likes on 211 Posts

I go heavy on the expensive gear that I need to stay warm and dry if the weather turns bad. Leather, rain gear, etc.

That uses most of the space I have available on the bike. If you are travelling in a group, tools and spare parts are probably not a priority for you. For me it is, I always travel solo. My tools and spare parts take up most of the room that is left in my saddle bags after the leather and rain gear.

My T-bag has the personal stuff. I like to pack as light as possible as far as cheap clothes go. It's easier for me to buy a new shirt or pair of jeans along the way if I need them than to overpack.

Even if you don't have everything you wish you had brought along, if you stay warm and dry you are far better off and have a much better chance of having a great trip.

Good luck. Try not to overthink the packing list.

Dennis

Last edited by rochkes; 04-27-2012 at 12:48 PM.
Old 04-27-2012, 02:07 PM
zeus33
Big Kahuna HDF Member