Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My DIY 1250 conversion thread: EFI version

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2012, 04:56 PM
Mich
Road Master
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Default My DIY 1250 conversion thread: EFI version

This conversion is on a 2012 883N Iron.

Parts: NRHS 1250 kit, top end gasket kit, SEPST Tuner cables and software , stock 883 heads(for now), SE round stage 1 A/C , 2012 sportster service manual.

Total cost so far is about $1750 Canadian, and that includes 12% hst tax we in BC have to pay, shipping costs of about $150,

I have almost all of the parts I need for my 1250 conversion, just waiting for the HD service manual to arrive, so I decided to start the disassembly.

I have never taken an engine apart, but I have worked on some older bikes in the past, so I have some experience stripping one down.

I am sure during the course of this thread I will do some things wrong and please if you see something wrong do not hesitate to let me know.

Let me also apologize in advance for some of my pics. I obviously am not meant to be a photographer.

Here is the bike before I start:

Last edited by Mich; 01-28-2012 at 06:47 PM.
The following users liked this post:
dorretje (05-07-2020)
Old 01-28-2012, 05:08 PM
Mich
Road Master

I believe it is possible to do this disassembly in different order than I did, but this seemed to work.

Tear down:

I started with the seat, remove the one screw behind the seat and it comes right off. Sorry some pics became unavailable (please don't ask...)

Next I decided to reflash the ECM with the Map I will need to start the bike after this is all finished. First, grab the top of left side cover and pull out, it will come loose and swing down on hinges, let it hang.

Note the grey box, that is the connection:

just pull the black plug out of it and plug your SEPST cable in.

Here is a pic of the SEPST connected to the bike: