Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

883 vs. 1200 vs. Dyna

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2013, 12:18 AM
Codazzle
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 883 vs. 1200 vs. Dyna

Hey guys,

This is my first post here, as I'm not yet in possession of a Harley.

Ever since I've wanted to get a motorcycle I've wanted a Harley, however, I've never been able to afford one (I only graduated from Uni 2 years ago). So, about four years ago as a student I bought an old, beat up 1983 Suzuki GS750T for a pittance. However, when pulling her out from hibernation last week some problems arose I don't think are worth fixing (as I was planning on getting a new bike next year anyways)

So, I'm now in the market for my Harley a year earlier than planned. The entire time I had my Suzuki I always figured I'd end up with Sportster when it was time to upgrade (I don't really care that they are the "girls" bike. After reading up on the forum a bit I see that description is not stopping anyone here either ). I personally think they are the best looking of the Harley's, and the smaller size actually appealed to me. I never liked the huge, hulking bikes I've seen driving around (just my preference).

When my Suzuki first died, I was leaning towards the 883 Sportster, but after mulling it over, I think I would rather pay more and have the 1200 (probably a Nightster) as opposed to getting the 883 and regretting not spending more later.

With that being said, I never really looked at a Dyna before last week. I guess the FXR and street bobs specifically. They look great (similar to a Sportster in my mind. Perhaps a more refined Sportster?) and have a little bit bigger engines (which I'm not sure I necessarily need). I've also read that many people consider them more comfortable on long hauls. I've never driven long distance but I would like to one day.