Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

i can't be the only one

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2008, 12:55 PM
Frankie-FLHXI
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default i can't be the only one

I am new to this although I have been riding off roadsince i was 13. My question is a sert and why is it needed. My SG06 is stock and I would like to pick up the sound some. Can anybody explain the sert fuel management dyno thing that everyone talks about. When at the dealer I really get a vague answer on it. It maybe my fault because I don't want to appear to be an idiot .... lol .... no comments please. So yeah any help on understanding this whole thing would be much aaprciated.

Old 05-02-2008, 01:05 PM
NICK56
Road Master
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: i can't be the only one

From what I read basically you want to make ur mcy louder... I guess with an exhaust system.. EZ
Think of ur motor as an air pump. The new exhaust will make ur exhaust run outta the motor faster itll also lean out the motor and make it run hotter and louder!
So youll need to get more fuel into the motor to make it run right (and faster) thats the "sert or Screamin eagle race tuner" or fuel mod system (there are many). Now, when u install a fuel mod youll also need to get air into the motor faster (k+n a/c etc.) . The Dyno will fine tune the fuel mod system. Yet another expense...
So 1 thing leads to another and your fuel mpgs will definately go down. dont let anyone tell u it wont. I repeat your mpg's will go down ! Soon $4.50 per gallon ! Happy motoring! But ull have a louder mcy. Maybe $800 for the pipe, $400 for fuel mod.. $250for dyno tune.. $200 air cleaner, then ur good 2 go.

Old 05-02-2008, 01:12 PM
drrandall1
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post