Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I Learned Something The Other Day

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2009, 03:55 AM
Dax4800
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I Learned Something The Other Day

First of all I am by no means an experienced mechanic so many of you may already know this. It's just a heads up for people like me who can change their oils and other easy things but don't really know much about the internal working of their bike.

I put up a thread a couple months ago regarding my 03' RKC Odometer/Tripmeter rubber button having gone bad. Although the bike was registering miles, I could not reset the tripmeter or switch back and forth to the odometer. The feedback I got made me just think the button was faulty so I decided I would get to it when I can. NOT blaming the feedback, but it looks like it may be related to a little more serious issue.

I was riding to Boise the other day for a conference, when as I was about 5 miles from Boise after riding about 2 hours, my speedometer took a dump and my engine light went on. I pulled over at a rest stop to let my two buddies know in case I broke town and we went on. As I continued the engine light would stay on for a minute then go off for a minute and same with the speedometer. Then when I exited the the interstate, I stalled at each red light I hit and the bike seemed way hotter than normal even though it was 90 degrees at the time. Anyway, the bike fortunately re-started each time and I got to my hotel.