New Aquatic AV not working - Harley Davidson Forums

Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Aquatic AV not working

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 09-14-2017, 07:56 PM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay
SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 534
Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts
Default New Aquatic AV not working

I purchased an Aquatic AV radio, the aq-mp-5ubt-hs model. My original Harmon Kardon has been acting up, and I felt another unit was better than fixing this pos. I ordered it online and received the first one last week. I installed it in the bike and it wouldn't turn on. I called Aquatic av and the tech guy had me check the wiring with a dmm while I was on the phone. The wiring checked out fine and he said it was probably the radio.
I emailed the place I got it from and told him what had happened. He sent me a return shipping label and said a new radio would be shipped asap. Well, I received the new unit last night and plugged it in today to find it also does not work. My first thought is that I could not have possible got two bad radios, there must be another problem, I checked the wiring again and it is fine. My original radio still works as well.
I went to my local stereo shop, they are an Aquatic dealer. They didn't have the unit I have, only the model below. He had no way of testing this radio so offered me to take one of their units home to try. Sure enough, the radio works fine. I have got two bad radios from Aquatic AV!
I'm just wondering if anyone else has a received a non working radio from them? Also, are there many people having issues with these units? I don't have a lot of faith in Aquatic AV right now.
 

Last edited by SG-Jay; 09-14-2017 at 10:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2017, 09:28 PM
blackxpress's Avatar
blackxpress
blackxpress is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 666
Thanked 186 Times in 110 Posts
Default

I had the same experience with mine. I just didn't have the faceplate on good and tight. It felt like it snapped into place but it didn't. Check that before you go any further. You have to really use some force to get it on there the first time. I had to take mine on and off a few times before I got it to work the first time. No more trouble after that.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2017, 10:11 PM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay
SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 534
Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts
Default

I'll try it, but I pushed it very hard, a lot harder than I had to push the cheaper model I had as a test unit. I heard an audible click as I snapped it on.

Thanks for the reply, I'll keep you posted.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2017, 09:28 AM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay
SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 534
Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts
Default

The face is definitely on all the way, the unit will not turn on. I find it hard to believe I got two bad radios, but it sure looks that way.
 

Last edited by SG-Jay; 09-15-2017 at 12:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2017, 12:18 PM
Gannicus's Avatar
Gannicus
Gannicus is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indianapolis IN.
Posts: 6,491
Thanked 374 Times in 349 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SG-Jay View Post
The face is definitely on all the way, the unit will not turn on. I find it hard to believe I hot two bad radios, but it sure looks that way.
I've heard this same story several times over the last few months. Not good for the Aquatic! Send it back and get your money. Go Pioneer, Sony, Alpine or Kenwood and call it good.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2017, 12:29 PM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay
SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 534
Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Thanks Gannicus. I was hoping to hear I wasn't alone on this.
I have requested my money back. So far the retailer sent me his electrical return policy, and said the proper warranty procedure is for me to send it to Aquatic for service. I have stated I'm not interested in sending anything in for warranty, or spending my own money shipping it there, I want a full refund.
He asked me to give him a chance to speak with Aquatic.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2017, 04:42 PM
IzzoQuazzo's Avatar
IzzoQuazzo
IzzoQuazzo is offline
MODERATOR
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 14,199
Thanked 1,175 Times in 482 Posts
Default

Sorry to hear of your problems. Mine was just the opposite, it was all plug and play. No problems whatsoever.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2017, 07:57 AM
Tailwind
Tailwind is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 365 Times in 324 Posts
Default

Check ur fuses. I know u said u checked with a dmm but I'm still gonna bet 5 bucks u blew a fuse. Or the wiring is wrong. I installed one for a bud and the wires on the radio were labeled wrong by China.

T
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2017, 09:52 AM
Gannicus's Avatar
Gannicus
Gannicus is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indianapolis IN.
Posts: 6,491
Thanked 374 Times in 349 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tailwind View Post
Check ur fuses. I know u said u checked with a dmm but I'm still gonna bet 5 bucks u blew a fuse. Or the wiring is wrong. I installed one for a bud and the wires on the radio were labeled wrong by China.

T
Holy S**T T!! Lol!!
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2017, 10:18 AM
blackxpress's Avatar
blackxpress
blackxpress is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 666
Thanked 186 Times in 110 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SG-Jay View Post
The face is definitely on all the way, the unit will not turn on. I find it hard to believe I got two bad radios, but it sure looks that way.
OK. I hate that for you. The weird thing with mine was that it definitely seemed to be on all the way and I heard the audible click but it still wouldn't power up. Took me a few tries before I got it to work. Other than that I was completely satisfied with it. I'm not using it anymore since I traded my Road Glide for a Heritage. If you're still interested in an Aquatic I'll send it to you for $300.

BTW: I'm assuming you already tested the radio fuse in the fuse block.
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New Aquatic AV not working


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: