New Aquatic AV not working - Harley Davidson Forums



Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Aquatic AV not working

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-14-2017, 08:56 PM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 511
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Default New Aquatic AV not working

I purchased an Aquatic AV radio, the aq-mp-5ubt-hs model. My original Harmon Kardon has been acting up, and I felt another unit was better than fixing this pos. I ordered it online and received the first one last week. I installed it in the bike and it wouldn't turn on. I called Aquatic av and the tech guy had me check the wiring with a dmm while I was on the phone. The wiring checked out fine and he said it was probably the radio.
I emailed the place I got it from and told him what had happened. He sent me a return shipping label and said a new radio would be shipped asap. Well, I received the new unit last night and plugged it in today to find it also does not work. My first thought is that I could not have possible got two bad radios, there must be another problem, I checked the wiring again and it is fine. My original radio still works as well.
I went to my local stereo shop, they are an Aquatic dealer. They didn't have the unit I have, only the model below. He had no way of testing this radio so offered me to take one of their units home to try. Sure enough, the radio works fine. I have got two bad radios from Aquatic AV!
I'm just wondering if anyone else has a received a non working radio from them? Also, are there many people having issues with these units? I don't have a lot of faith in Aquatic AV right now.

Last edited by SG-Jay; 09-14-2017 at 11:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2017, 10:28 PM
blackxpress's Avatar
blackxpress blackxpress is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 373
Thanked 115 Times in 66 Posts
Default

I had the same experience with mine. I just didn't have the faceplate on good and tight. It felt like it snapped into place but it didn't. Check that before you go any further. You have to really use some force to get it on there the first time. I had to take mine on and off a few times before I got it to work the first time. No more trouble after that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2017, 11:11 PM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 511
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Default

I'll try it, but I pushed it very hard, a lot harder than I had to push the cheaper model I had as a test unit. I heard an audible click as I snapped it on.

Thanks for the reply, I'll keep you posted.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2017, 10:28 AM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 511
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Default

The face is definitely on all the way, the unit will not turn on. I find it hard to believe I got two bad radios, but it sure looks that way.

Last edited by SG-Jay; 09-15-2017 at 01:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2017, 01:18 PM
Gannicus's Avatar
Gannicus Gannicus is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indianapolis IN.
Posts: 5,998
Thanked 311 Times in 292 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SG-Jay View Post
The face is definitely on all the way, the unit will not turn on. I find it hard to believe I hot two bad radios, but it sure looks that way.
I've heard this same story several times over the last few months. Not good for the Aquatic! Send it back and get your money. Go Pioneer, Sony, Alpine or Kenwood and call it good.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2017, 01:29 PM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 511
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Thanks Gannicus. I was hoping to hear I wasn't alone on this.
I have requested my money back. So far the retailer sent me his electrical return policy, and said the proper warranty procedure is for me to send it to Aquatic for service. I have stated I'm not interested in sending anything in for warranty, or spending my own money shipping it there, I want a full refund.
He asked me to give him a chance to speak with Aquatic.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2017, 05:42 PM
IzzoQuazzo's Avatar
IzzoQuazzo IzzoQuazzo is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 13,691
Thanked 686 Times in 345 Posts
Default

Sorry to hear of your problems. Mine was just the opposite, it was all plug and play. No problems whatsoever.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2017, 08:57 AM
Tailwind Tailwind is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 3,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 288 Times in 254 Posts
Default

Check ur fuses. I know u said u checked with a dmm but I'm still gonna bet 5 bucks u blew a fuse. Or the wiring is wrong. I installed one for a bud and the wires on the radio were labeled wrong by China.

T
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2017, 10:52 AM
Gannicus's Avatar
Gannicus Gannicus is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indianapolis IN.
Posts: 5,998
Thanked 311 Times in 292 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tailwind View Post
Check ur fuses. I know u said u checked with a dmm but I'm still gonna bet 5 bucks u blew a fuse. Or the wiring is wrong. I installed one for a bud and the wires on the radio were labeled wrong by China.

T
Holy S**T T!! Lol!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2017, 11:18 AM
blackxpress's Avatar
blackxpress blackxpress is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 373
Thanked 115 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SG-Jay View Post
The face is definitely on all the way, the unit will not turn on. I find it hard to believe I got two bad radios, but it sure looks that way.
OK. I hate that for you. The weird thing with mine was that it definitely seemed to be on all the way and I heard the audible click but it still wouldn't power up. Took me a few tries before I got it to work. Other than that I was completely satisfied with it. I'm not using it anymore since I traded my Road Glide for a Heritage. If you're still interested in an Aquatic I'll send it to you for $300.

BTW: I'm assuming you already tested the radio fuse in the fuse block.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 flhtcse2 radio kellyjade Screamin Eagle CVO Models 1 09-22-2017 10:47 AM
Aquatic AV stereo and Hogtunes amp EdsStreetGlide2010 Audio Systems 4 06-19-2017 02:55 PM
WTB: Aquatic Radio JetRanger Want To Buy Motorcycles/Parts/Accessories 0 04-17-2017 10:35 PM
New Aquatic AV to be realeased in roughly a week. BaddAzzBikes Audio Systems 11 12-18-2016 06:05 AM
Awesome new stereo for the Street Glide.. Hecklerboy Touring Models 56 02-21-2016 08:50 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: