motor mount stabalizer - Harley Davidson Forums

Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.

motor mount stabalizer

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 02-10-2018, 09:09 PM
hell hound's Avatar
hell hound
hell hound is online now
Outstanding HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 2,377
Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 48 Posts
Default motor mount stabalizer

I had a true track on my 06 that made a big improvement
I am wanting to add them on my 14 lowrider. What are people using now for them. Back then all I knew about was true track and sputhe.

I actually have the front true track mount and hardware that I took off my bike when I traded it but dam I was too lazy to take off the rear one.

I am thinking of getting a new set anyway just because the true track is a little large hanging off the front. Is sputhe still a good option? Any other options out there? I don't know if people still use the predator mount but please don't suggest that. I tried one and thought it was a piece of crap.

Also i resently installed a new front isolator and it was pretty worn out. Back one looks fine
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2018, 10:11 PM
Dyna100
Dyna100 is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Lancaster, CA.
Posts: 160
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Alan Sputhe died, but Sputhe Engineering is still accepting orders. Last time I ordered they didn't accept credit cards. If I remember correctly, they shipped it COD. I also was not satisfied with the Predator mount. The Sputhe did improve the handling of my 2003 Wide Glide. I don't really feel the need for one on my 2015 Low Rider. Could be the Low Rider only has a few thousand miles on it and everything still feels tight.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2018, 04:21 AM
Tnbrit
Tnbrit is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrington England
Posts: 550
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Default

What was the problem with the Predator?
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2018, 05:31 AM
Greezey Rider's Avatar
Greezey Rider
Greezey Rider is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 5,311
Thanked 1,137 Times in 542 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tnbrit View Post
What was the problem with the Predator?
I'd like to know what was wrong with it as well.
I have a Predator on my Dyna and it is the single best thing that I ever added to the bike.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2018, 06:35 AM
Nomadmax's Avatar
Nomadmax
Nomadmax is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SW Ohio, On the bank of Big Twin Creek
Posts: 8,771
Thanked 1,846 Times in 1,142 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Greezey Rider View Post
I'd like to know what was wrong with it as well.
I have a Predator on my Dyna and it is the single best thing that I ever added to the bike.
Put me down as the same; I'd like to learn more.
 

Last edited by Nomadmax; 02-11-2018 at 06:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2018, 06:48 AM
Brsblls's Avatar
Brsblls
Brsblls is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Raleigh, NC area
Posts: 118
Thanked 28 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Previous owner installed True Track on my '08 Low Rider. Feels solid.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2018, 08:55 AM
hell hound's Avatar
hell hound
hell hound is online now
Outstanding HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 2,377
Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 48 Posts
Default

It seems that everyone loves the predator mount but it was not for me. Granted I had one of the early ones and im not sure if they were differnt. I dont even think they were marketed as "predator" back then.

Anyway, it had too much vertical movement for me and a few times I felt the motor slam down pretty hard when hitting bumps, it was silky smooth at some rpms and shaky as hell at other rpms, plus i did not like the entire front of the motor attached with one bolt in the center. I reinstalled it a couple separate times, thinking it had something to do with the install but in the end I could not wait to get it off my bike. Everyone ive talked to loved them so it was easy to sell.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2018, 09:21 AM
cvaria's Avatar
cvaria
cvaria is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 12,083
Thanked 1,984 Times in 1,556 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by hell hound View Post
"predator"
i have a predator that i never installed. i was going to insall it when i was massing with my engine but, i had no problems. still have none.

i don't have any bazaar vibes. after hopping of my sporty, the dyna feels subdued. even at 6000+ rpm, smooth. if the dyna starts going ape, i'll add the predator.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2018, 09:48 PM
Dyna100
Dyna100 is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Lancaster, CA.
Posts: 160
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tnbrit View Post
What was the problem with the Predator?
I installed it along with the Sputhe rear mount. After install the bike had a clunk on bumps, railroad tracks, etc. installed exactly as instructions dictated. Brought it to my mechanic to verify. Called Vibratechnics and tried all there suggestions and none worked. In the end Vibratechnics told me to remove the Sputhe in the rear, even though their advertising said it would work with any rear stabilizer. I told them this was not an option. At this point they offered to take it back. I checked freight cost and it was about $80.00 to send it back to as they're not in the USA. I found someone who wanted it so I sold it at a loss. I also paid my mechanic a couple hours to check all the normal things, such as kick stand interference, etc. I even changed the rear motor mount, even tho I knew it was not bad, as that was the suggestion from Vibratechnics after loosing predator bolts and running motor to make sure everything was seated properly. Installed a new OEM front mount, along with the Sputhe in the rear and everything worked great. So far I've not found the need for the front stabilizer. I also have a solid top mount.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-12-2018, 03:12 AM
Tnbrit
Tnbrit is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrington England
Posts: 550
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dyna100 View Post
I installed it along with the Sputhe rear mount. After install the bike had a clunk on bumps, railroad tracks, etc. installed exactly as instructions dictated. Brought it to my mechanic to verify. Called Vibratechnics and tried all there suggestions and none worked. In the end Vibratechnics told me to remove the Sputhe in the rear, even though their advertising said it would work with any rear stabilizer. I told them this was not an option. At this point they offered to take it back. I checked freight cost and it was about $80.00 to send it back to as they're not in the USA. I found someone who wanted it so I sold it at a loss. I also paid my mechanic a couple hours to check all the normal things, such as kick stand interference, etc. I even changed the rear motor mount, even tho I knew it was not bad, as that was the suggestion from Vibratechnics after loosing predator bolts and running motor to make sure everything was seated properly. Installed a new OEM front mount, along with the Sputhe in the rear and everything worked great. So far I've not found the need for the front stabilizer. I also have a solid top mount.
Ok thanks,just curious,i'm considering ordering one,may start a new thread.
If you don't mind a second question,what is a "solid"top mount is that a better construction,or none adjustable?.
Thanks.
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: motor mount stabalizer


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: