Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Guy EFI tuner questions?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2008, 10:09 PM
Chazmanian
R.I.P. BROTHER
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default New Guy EFI tuner questions?

I just bought a 2005 Night Train from a feller HDF'er in the classified section.

He lives in Georgia, I live in Colorado.

He told me that the bike has a 95" Big Bore kit with 211 cams. I'm new to harley world so that all sounded cool but in all reality I dont much know the difference. What I have gleaned is that he states it is much stronger and faster than a stock 88 and faster than a new stock? 96" as he told me he lined up with his buddy on a 96" and left him handily.

So my question is this.

What effect if any will the drastic altitude change have on whatever EFI tuning program was used to facilitate the addition of the bigger bore/Cams/Pipes and intake?

Is it safe to assume that the computer will simply compensate and run it leaner at my altitude?

I ride off road bikes and typically need to drop from a 165 main jet all the way down to a 150 in order to run properly up here.

I also have had the compression raised on my last bike via a thinner base gasket to compensate as well.

I asked the seller everything I could about whats on the bike but completely forgot to ask him about the EFI system, what type of tune it was given etc..etc...

The bike is at the shipping company and I should be picking it up after Christmas at that point I will ride it and determine if it feels "Wierd" per se but prior to letting the local Harley dealer go buck wild on my bike as I plan on having them go through and service it, determine what is what etc..etc... I would like to be armed with some info other than from the dealer.

Such as this SERT? If this isnt installed in the bike when I recieve it is this something I should consider?