EVO All Evo Model Discussion

3/4 to 1 inch axle verification

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2014, 06:34 PM
Scootertrash60
Cruiser
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 3/4 to 1 inch axle verification

Wheels are from a 99 Road King and the fork lowers are (or will be) 2000 up touring lower legs

OK, Just so everyone knows, I have used the search function on this topic and I believe I'm correct when I assume that I can:

Swap out the 3/4 inch bearings in the 99 wheels for 1 inch bearings and run the 1 inch axle for the 2000 and up lowers. The 1 inch bearings are the same OD and the same thickness as the 3/4 inch bearings.

Am I correct?

Thanks in advance folks!

Old 05-01-2014, 07:30 PM
HGM
Road Warrior
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

I have no experience with the '99 specifically. However, the '95 wheels I have are 3/4" tapered bearings. The sealed 1" will not fit. I would just find a 1" wheel instead.. However, you will also need rotors..

Old 05-01-2014, 07:59 PM
Tee&Vee
Stellar HDF Member
Received 96 Likes on 83 Posts

Yes, from the best account of research I can share is you need to run the 300mm rotors. I have not personally tried this but it is 11.5" vs 11.8".

Old 05-01-2014, 08:19 PM
HGM
Road Warrior
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by Tee⋁12669752
Yes, from the best account of research I can share is you need to run the 300mm rotors. I have not personally tried this but it is 11.5" vs 11.8".
Not sure we're talking about the same thing.. The 11.8" is actually whats needed for the Brembo's, the 11.5" is for everything else. The real issue is the center hole.. Just did the '00 lowers with Brembo's on mine, 1" wheel and axle with 11.8 rotors to fit the calipers.. With a simple '00-'08 caliper, the 11.5 should work if it fits the wheel..

Old 05-01-2014, 08:19 PM
krwould
Club Member

Received 1,313 Likes on 1,028 Posts