Notices
2018+ Softail Models Breakout

The Everything 2018+ Heritage Thread

 
  #991  
Old 10-03-2018, 08:04 AM
Another Old Timer
Another Old Timer is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 415
Received 112 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

I know its personal preference................But..................... ...AARRRGGGG

For the life of me, I can't understand why anyone would do that.
 
The following users liked this post:
FrankEV (10-03-2018)
  #992  
Old 10-03-2018, 08:19 AM
Yzzyx's Avatar
Yzzyx
Yzzyx is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 229
Received 59 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Yzzyx View Post
To be extra sure, I rode 150 miles and used the mile markers to see how far I was off. It was within 0.2 miles when I did that.
I wanted some ice cream so I decided to do another calibration run.

The previous run (0.2 miles off in 150 miles ridden) was done on my Slim with 8,000 miles on the tires. The calibration run below was done on my Heritage with 1,500 miles on the tires. Maybe the worn tires affected the error (diameter) a teeny bit?

The result was 0.3 miles off in 150 miles ridden. (Very acceptable, IMO!) See the attached picture.

Note: The GPS I use is a Garmin Edge 20. I have calibrated it against several other GPS units and they all agree. It is a great little unit if all you want is distance and speed. (And altitude!)

PS - I had my dealer turn on my auxiliary lights when I use my high beams. It took less than a minute for them to do it. I already had the side over off (5/32 allen) so all they had to do was hook up the computer. They didn't charge me, and I didn't expect them to. Something like this falls under "dealer prep/setup" in my opinion. I run everything on during the day time for safety.

 
  #993  
Old 10-03-2018, 11:21 AM
IanMass's Avatar
IanMass
IanMass is offline
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Has anyone removed battery for storage? My shed doesnít have electric, does anything go haywire when you remove it like settings or alarm? Winter in NE starts soon. Thanks
 
  #994  
Old 10-03-2018, 04:39 PM
WDHGS114
WDHGS114 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 8
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Error
 

Last edited by WDHGS114; 10-03-2018 at 04:43 PM.
  #995  
Old 10-03-2018, 05:54 PM
IanMass's Avatar
IanMass
IanMass is offline
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by WDHGS114 View Post
Error
donít get it
 
  #996  
Old 10-03-2018, 06:35 PM
DonN's Avatar
DonN
DonN is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 1,370
Received 61 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

No error when you have your pod with you. The alarm has a backup battery that will discharge. Its just a pain in the *** to remove the battery with the cover the way it is.
 
  #997  
Old 10-04-2018, 09:35 AM
IanMass's Avatar
IanMass
IanMass is offline
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you
 
  #998  
Old 10-04-2018, 09:48 AM
FLSTC-Dave
FLSTC-Dave is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Knob Noster, MO
Posts: 410
Likes: 0
Received 90 Likes on 67 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Buster217 View Post
Mine reads high also - both odometer and speedometer. Pisses me off that HD deliberately calibrates these things to read too high. It means my odometer shows more miles on the bike than actual. Is it a lot? - no, but but it's a shitty thing to do and ought to be as illegal as deliberately taking miles off the odometer.

I don't think I want to shell out $599 for a PV. I've tried to find other ways to re-cal the speedometer but haven't come up with any. I have an SE Street Tuner, but of course, it doesn't have this feature. Anyone know of any other way to fix this?
FP3 has capability to Cal speedo but of course there's the "W" thing
 
  #999  
Old 10-04-2018, 10:04 AM
sectime's Avatar
sectime
sectime is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 454
Received 41 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Of all the things to stress over, how about enjoying the ride and not about calibrating your speedo to USNO clock accuracy. Regulations allow 5mph error range, in Europe the error canít be actual speed faster than indicated. Bike makers routinely show faster indicated speeds, many posts in other manufacturers forums for years. Using GPS is the suggested fix for those who care that much.
 
  #1000  
Old 10-04-2018, 10:30 PM
Buster217's Avatar
Buster217
Buster217 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Portland
Posts: 446
Received 174 Likes on 96 Posts
Default

And then there's stressing over what other people stress over.....
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: The Everything 2018+ Heritage Thread


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: